People need to stay in their own lanes

Yesterday at work was a bit of an adventure. There were two belted registers open, me and a trainee, and a manager who was off the clock and should have left an hour earlier decided to close me so I could replace two people on the self-checkouts becuase they were leaving right now and her closing shift buddies hadn’t replaced them yet. Except they had.

So now I’m an extra person on self-checks (as I was dutifully staying in my lane because this same manager once told me if she wanted my opinion she’d let me know what it was first) with a slower than slow cashier on the only belted register, the line blows up almost immediately, and customers are screaming and hollering and there are no managers around because the one that caused the problem had finally left and the ones that were actually in charge at the moment were off in another department because they thought they had two registers open. I finally ended up back on my register because someone that wasn’t me suggested it. If I hadn’t already been told off about having opinions on how to staff the front I’d have already done it.

I was late today, my bed was just so comfy! It’s not like I overslept, I woke up with the alarm and hit snooze (it’s a game I play with myself: since I know I’m going to hit snooze at least once I set the alarm early so it doesn’t hurt my routine) and I was awake again before the alarm went off again. I don’t know why I couldn’t get up, laying there just felt so good. I haven’t been sleeping well for a while now but the past week was just so relaxing and I’m finally sleeping well again and I just didn’t want to get up. No one tell my Comp I professor about that sentence, she’ll hunt me down and strangle me.

Finishing up lunch at work, so yay. I’ve got two labs and a project stepping stone to complete for class this week and I’ve only got two days to do them in because I thought the stepping stone wasn’t due until next week so oops. I guess I’ll get the labs done tonight since they’re pretty straightforward and I’ll tackle the stepping stone tomorrow since I’m off Monday and can sleep in if I stay up all night trying to get it turned in.

No, that’s not the ideal study model but I’m not normally that much of a cluster, and I’ll probably get a lot of the next week’s assignments done Monday and Tuesday.

Log in to write a note