Still a little sick and weekend plans

I’m still sick. Work isn’t real happy with me right now but unless they’re going to pay me to sit on the toilet all day then I’m staying home. I stopped taking the antibiotics yesterday morning so I should be fine by tonight but I’m not there yet.

Dirty Girl and I will be at her place tonight. It’ll be easier that way since we’ll have Phoebe. DG has to be at work at 0700 or 0800 on Saturday as ususal now, but at least we’re in townthis time. Last time we were in the next town up, about half an hour away so we had to get up REALLY early. Anyway.

I’m not sure if Ember is going to take Phoebe tomorrow or if she’ll be going to her regular sitter. Her regular sitter is a nice lady, about DG’s age, but not one given to sleep-over dates, at least not yet, and certainly not at her mom’s house where she lives right now (she’s still in school). And in case anyone missed it, the reason we’ll have Phoebe tonight is that her regular sitter has a date. I can’t keep her because I have absolutely no experience caring for a nine-month old. It wouldn’t surprise me, however, if I got a call from Ember sometime on Saturday saying, “Hey ToyMan! Get your butt over here and learn how to change a diaper!”

And lest anyone mistake my disinterest in the matter for callousness, it is a shame Anna Nicole is dead, I just don’t think she rates the same level of coverage as the Columbia tragedy, that’s all. There are plenty of “entertainment news” channels/shows out there that cover nothing but celebs and gossip topics, there’s really no need for anything but a quick blurb on CNN or Fox or MSNBC, etc. And in case you’re wondering, I think the thing about the astronaut is being hyped a bit much as well, but at least there was an actual crime going on there. Not something you’d expect from someone who’s made it through astronaut training. NASA is usually pretty good about screening out those who might snap under pressure.

Ember called last night and for some reason I missed the call. She didn’t leave a voice-mail so I have to assume everything is OK, but I feel badly about not answering. I told her a long time ago that if she called I would answer, no matter what I was doing. And DG understands that Ember is like a sister to me, so as long as we aren’t actively involved in naughtiness or having a “moment” then I still answer the phone when Ember calls. She’s the only one that gets that treatment. None of that was the case last night. DG was at home with the kids and I was here, and should have still been awake. I’ll give her a call when I know she’ll be up. If she was only asking if I wanted to have dinner with her then I don’t want to wake her up two hours early, I’d get shot at.

Back to bed for the ToyMan.

Log in to write a note

I agree with you about Smith, sad, but come on! I wish you’ld get to feeling better real soon! Hugs my friend

February 9, 2007

I feel just the same way about Smith. A celeb playboy centerfold dies, and the news tells the nation they should be in mourning. Meanwhile, another soldier has given the ultimate sacrifice in defence of freedom. And we don’t even know their name. Priorities seem a bit skewed…

February 9, 2007

And I hope you feel better real soon.