My Country Music Song

I just returned from the four day trek and descended into my own personal country music song:  My dog died, I lost my job, and there was so much fog at Machu Picchu that we didn´t even get to see it!

My dog was 12 years old and until I left for war, I had raised him from puppy hood.  The people taking care of his took him swimming at a lake in Arizona and noticed that he was having troubles breathing so they took him to the vet.   The vet said it would be best to ´put him down´…such a gentle way of putting it (sarcastic snicker).  I think that this event is quite possibly the saddest of my existance.  Onto something else before the locas think I´m a loon for crying in an internet cafe.

After John was let go at work, the company cleaned house.  Not  totally unexpected since new management in my world always have an up-hill battle when taking over a new program.  I wish I could say I´m bothered by the ´we currently have no available position for you´ letter, but I´m not.  I was growing quite bored working with the same people for so long.  It really was time for a change.  For now, I´m going to cut my holiday short to so I don´t spend too much money.  I don´t want to work for a couple of more months.  I am returning to Irbil Iraq to collect my gear so it doesn´t ´go missing´, then I´m going to hole up in Thailand for a few months.  When I left this last time, things were and still are quite nice with Jimlim.

I´ll write about the trek at a later time.  I´m exhausted and still have to deal with my extremely annoying travel companion.

Peace

Log in to write a note
March 22, 2007

Well, sad on many fronts. There’s a better job for you though. Has to be.

My condolences on Norm. He had such a good life. Lora.

March 22, 2007

bummer about the fog at machu picchu! i’d heard that sometimes happens. i suppose i should consider myself lucky then. i’m wondering what you were able to see and what you weren’t. pictures next time, i hope. maybe i’ll post some of my own. i have no doubt you can find a new gig in time. so sorry about your pup.