Update on Life since ’05

Haven’t written in here since 2005, when I was 21! Let me catch you up on things. College didn’t work out the way I wanted ( My mind, nor my heart were in it, I wanted more freedom), and I ended up leaving without my degree in 2007. My mom died in October 2007, and that was one of the toughest times I’ve been through. Since her passing, I worked my way through some things and found myself in the process. I converted and was baptized in the Catholic Faith in April 2006, and I have been growing in faith, learning and trusting in God as I go along. By no means has it been an easy journey, but I am working through things. I got a job in customer service in March 2014, and I have been working steadily since then, adding a job as a tour guide in April 2018. I also have a volunteer job that I started in December 2013,  which I found while looking for employment. These jobs and experiences within them have taught me the values of time management, hard work, teamwork, listening and problem-solving skills, and people skills. I have been taking care of my Dad over the past 3-4 years after his health deteriorated a bit, and had been in and out of the hospital and nursing homes. He is currently at home with a caretaker and doing remarkably well, just turned 77 last month! I got re-started doing my family history in 2008, one year after my mom’s passing. I wish at times that she, as well as other family members, were around to see the results of the work I have done so far. I spent numerous hours online at Ancestry and other websites, and many a Saturday at the Detroit Main Library. I have reinvented myself and have really come into my own in the past 15 years, and with God’s help and guidance, I feel I will go far. I can’t do this alone, so I rely on God to help me. Other than this, I have been doing reasonably well overall.

Log in to write a note
March 19, 2020

Reinventing yourself is awesome, welcome back!

March 19, 2020

Welcome!!