Almost good

  1. Got a bit of work done at Pup’s place. After allergy shots, I took bulgogi to the Hubbin crawling on hands and knees trying to get the tiny hallway done. The smallest space is the most labor intensive. He deserved bulgogi. I was delighted to discover I had 2 shelves left to paint, now just 1 side of the last shelf to do. Thought I’d go in this morning but felt the strange little twinge in my left side and thought best not tempt fate just before I have to go get the iron infusions tomorrow.
  2. Checked my ferritin levels from last week. Dr. Aha said no change but it’s actually gone from 5 to 10 since June. That’s not super exciting but it means I did absorb something from all those awful pills I’ve been forcing down my gullet.
  3. PM called to say the court date for the ULD has been canceled and it looks like the lawyers have come to a settlement agreement. The term settlement seems weird since we are aggrieved and the Muskrat had nothing to do but what should have been done 2 months ago. GTFO. If they sign off we are supposed to have the Bang Bang house back by the 15th. I’m not sure what good that does us because we needed the whole summer to get it turned. Two weeks in August isn’t enough. Will have to be creative. At least the new windows can be installed.
  4. Wu is helping Hubbin today, another reason to stay home. More than 2 people in that place are cumbersome. I can paint tomorrow before I go the get infused. Then I could maybe snag Pup for a decision on what color cabinet doors need to be painted. I was sitting in the back bedroom yesterday looking at the doors in that place. Some are still cigarette stained from when my mother inhabited the space. It’s a weird house. You can actually open a bedroom door and lock someone in the closet. Don’t know why they’d be in the closet. You could also open the closet door and lock someone out of the bedroom. Who designed that? 9 doors in that house. Small house with and it looks like a couple were removed. Bang Bang has 10 but a bigger house, 2 added by us, and someone removed one and deleted a closet. The lake house has 11. We added 1 and got rid of one. Why am I thinking about doors? You plan ahead for things to do. Doors and exterior paint are on the horizon if we can get caught up. Effin Muskrats!
  5. I’m down to my last cat here. I think after cleaning rentals and the leavings of relatives I’m done with things that poop and eat. These weird little h0uses are my “pets” and I’m still not sure how much longer I can put up with that mess.
  6. Watched The Woman in The Window the other night. Really satisfying ending. I like to be surprised.https://youtu.be/G3MY1Q6zijA  Edward G Robinson delivers. I also liked Brother Orchid. Watched that one on a stormy night at the beach 2 years ago. I only watch TCM when I go to the beach, sometimes it gets more attention than the beach and bad weather makes it even better.
  7. Was reading a book about some Bulgarian Communists, trying to understand the history. Couldn’t make much sense of it except not good for the peasants or the middle class who were supposed to sign off on that mess and lots of people got “liquidated” which doesn’t speak well for those ways of thinking. Loyalty? Switched to Stephen King’s Desperation, not quite as scary and has way fewer footnotes. I can’t stand footnotes. Why write a book that way? Don’t know where the King book had been hiding but that’s my summer read and there are a few more I haven’t got to yet.
  8. Just opened a new box of generic pain relievers. The box was sealed but the cap was askew and the seal was not quite intact, like a mechanical failure. Cotton looked ok so I took 2 anyway. If this would be my last entry that’s what happened. When I was a kid Tylenol got tampered with, except it didn’t. A guy offed his wife and blamed product tampering. I think Hubbin loves me more than hates me most of the time. This morning Wu was showing me a news video about a mouse in a can of pork and beans. They knew it was a legit problem from the packing facility because the mouse had bean starch in its stomach. The autopsied the mouse. “They autopsied a mouse?” I asked. “Apparently they do.” Says Wu. These are the discussions I have with my youngest adult male offspring.
Log in to write a note

What is bulgogi? And Desperation by Stephen King was a mindblower. Just like, Needful Thimgs.

August 2, 2022

@sambucathedestroyer A Korean beef dish. Hubbin loves it.

@tunguska Ahh.. ok, lovely. 😀 I love kimchi, have you had that? Mmm…

August 3, 2022

@sambucathedestroyer I prefer Kim Bap, not into spicy stuff

@tunguska I like the squishy rice cakes …

August 2, 2022

I’ve always wanted to try making bulgogi. Do you have a recipe you’d be willing to share?

August 2, 2022

@darkmadonna I always figure somebody whose mother taught them makes it better than I can but this looks doable.

https://damndelicious.net/2019/04/21/korean-beef-bulgogi/