Rain Like Oregon

The cold has been overwhelming. All I think about is the big soaking tub at Hilton Head and two reading lights next to the bed. I just ordered 2 of those. Hilton Head is a little out of reach right now.
Recreation asks if I’ve made plans for a vacation yet. Seriously? I want to go out where the trains run BUT I also want to take a road trip to West Virginia or train, or — ugh! Not air travel, ucky. That place is complicated. I must meditate on it further.
Lost the keys to the mailbox to the house in town. That has been nothing but a pain in the ass since we took it over. Sure, another $50 up in smoke. The key ring broke. The Muskrats have come up with countless aliases. I “return to sender” and it comes back to the box. The Post office has dementia.
Up half the night reading The Books of Jacob. That book is a bastard. The climate is tuned to real weather outside. Cold and depressing. Then I woke up this morning to rain, rain like Oregon, that felt better, hopeful. This snow has to go.
Made my own linguine. Wow. Have a relative who works at Barilla so we get a lot of free pasta. Hate to be disloyal but some things are better if you just do it yourself.
Cleared all the crap out of my inbox. Every day the same stuff. Nothing that matters.
My clothes hurt. Losing weight doesn’t help. I’m going to put on my shoes and go get a crunch wrap. I don’t need that. I need something to strengthen me for the anxious insult of having to deal with the post office. Bad logic. At least I washed Dirty Gertie on Friday. Of all the cars lined up mine was the filthiest.
A friend died last week. She was maybe 60. Beautiful funny smart lady. A sudden thing. Her mom was there when it happened. A parent should never outlast the child. She had a twin sister. I can’t imagine leaving voids like that. 60 seems really young. My effit list is too long. Clean up your messes. It’s really important. Other people won’t understand the important things. I’m still cleaning up other’s leavins.

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2023

I am 59.  My ex-sister-in-law just died.  She was 58.  She underlived her mother, children, and grandchildren.  I lost my own son 5 years ago.  There is NO pain equal to that of losing a child.  None.

Yes, clean up messes.  Yes, don’t make a huge mess in the first place.  Yes, learn from said messes.  Yes, eat crunch wraps.

February 7, 2023

@novembercirese Thank you for saying it.💖

February 6, 2023

Sorry about your friend.

February 7, 2023

You’re right. We did our will and trust during COVID. We’re trying to declutter as much as possible so that the kids won’t inherit too much junk. It’s hard.

February 11, 2023

We’ve been thinking about a vacation by train…it looks interesting and so many places to visit.