Wu story

11/3/2023

an aside

at his father’s insistence

I keep trying to schedule early arrivals

meant to keep Wu in the habit of getting up early and going to do important things

so far, I have the habit of getting up too early becoming exhausted, and falling asleep again two or three hours before I have declared mutual agreement is going to be Showtime

Then I call Wu who is asleep or has also fallen back to sleep and we must rush so that we can get full cooperation from the father figure on this date. it didn’t go exactly as planned but to the man’s credit we had enough time to sit down and figure out how to get this young adult signed up for his own car insurance

Toward the end of all this, I was incredibly impressed by the fact that Wu understands the concept maybe even better than I do and was wrangling for discounts with the insurance agent who didn’t quite understand that this 24-year-old Gen Z even with on-again-off-again work has managed to accumulate what most people would think of as a full years income and so it was slick to see him make her affirm that she wanted to stack the discounts based on his ability to pay in advance and in full

He was doing so well

Then at the culmination of the negotiation and the ending of the phone call (he had picked up a pencil to write down the information, so he wouldn’t forget what he needed to do and how much everything was, and) as he said goodbye, he casually drops the pencil into my cup of water emblazoned with Joe Biden’s laser eyes

I unhinged my jaw

After I pointed out what he had done, (it would be a natural mistake given the fact that I have a habit of putting coffee cups around the house full of pencils and pens) he also laughed

then he got up and rinsed out my cup and brought me a new glass of ice water complete with crushed ice

I’m awfully fond of him

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2023

❤️

November 4, 2023

Wu sounds like a keeper! You must be so proud.

November 4, 2023

😁

November 18, 2023

He sounds wise beyond his years. How neat to witness him interact so well.