Ukiah

Friday the 13th November 2K9

(2 years later I’d be returning home from a Jason Webley concert at the Moore on 11/11/11 driving through the first snow on Stevens pass)

Hi Ukiah!

Just got back from the cabin out on the Puget Sound. No electricity, no phone, and it RAINED the whole time. The salmon were spawning (a weird thing to see) and we had fresh oysters one morning.

Got back just ahead of the snow.

Pup had a lead part in a play, so he did that last night. He asked us not to go so he wouldn’t be nervous. I think the so-called girlfriend has been giving him grief and her “meet the parents” would have made her more important that he’s ready to make her.

(She was scary, and he gave her the boot a couple of weeks after she got too pushy about invading our basement after she had been sent home for the night. Mother met her at the door and turned her around with Pup’s blessing)

Mr. St Thomas was a friend of mine who lived in Renton WA. I stopped at his grave site this week. I think that helps for a while and then one day you know you are done with the sad stuff (no, never really done missing him) and it’s ok. Not good but you know it is going to go on and sad is not so much anymore. I still expect letters from him though, impossible as that is.

Email is fine. I’m still at: whatdoyoucare@blablabla.com

but I’ve always been able to think better with a pen in my hand plus I can do it at work – though it’s too loud to talk on my phone. My hours are stupid. I’m thinking about going part-time, maybe 4×8/week after the next shift bid.

Got right back to writing yesterday. I was a little ahead (10,000 words) when I left on Sunday. My mood was awful, and I struggled. Yesterday I got up to 14,000 words so I’m only a little behind. I have some ideas. Next year I will NOT plan a trip in November, but I WILL plan some days off for more writing time. I can do this.

Take Care

Tunguska

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 2, 2023

❤️