Puppy Love

As a volunteer for the local animal shelter I ended up fostering a 13-hour old orphaned puppy back in 2010.

He was the size of a stick of butter. I named him Santino which means little saint.

He needed me more than anyone ever had in my whole life.

I bottle fed him every 3 hours. I had to boil his bottles and nipples as if he were a human baby. 💓

I had to manually stimulate all of his bowel movements… hand-wash his blankets & keep him warm.

At 2 months old he developed what is known as puppy strangles. It almost killed him.

I remember putting him in a shoe box  and my husband just flooring it all the way to the vet. We got pulled over. The cop was cool though. We showed him the puppy and told him the situation and he quickly let us go.

Today Santino is 12 and 1/2 years old and asleep on the couch next to me.

He is so spoiled and is living a long, wonderful Life.

 

Log in to write a note
July 5, 2022

god has a very special place for you, your family and santino. dogs are the angels on our shoulders.