So thoroughly geek happy.

Let there be songs to fill the air. –Robert Hunter/Grateful Dead

I bought a mandolin!!! I bought a mandolin!!! I bought a mandolin!!!

I have to keep saying it, just so I believe it.  I’ve wanted to get my grubby little paws on one for years now, and I finally found myself in a position to afford one! As it turned out, the locally owned guitar shop had one with that soft, celtic-ish/dawg-ish sound I had my heart set on, with a beautiful body AND a built in EQ. It’s an acoustic/electric, so what the Ovation generally lacks in oomph can be made up for with an amp. I’m already fucking around with a few basic chords and tutorial videos on youtube, and trying to find the first songs I want to learn.

Right after the purchase, I was sitting on the sidewalk with a reformed-traveling kid named Driftwood and his dog Hitchhiker. Driftwood recently owned a mandolin for a couple months, but sold it for gas money to get himself to Colorado when he and a friend skipped town for a few weeks. He was messing around with it, and golly does it have a dulcet sound! ^_^ While we were talking, Gizmo wandered by and asked what I was naming it. I had no clue what to tell him, so that’s when I came back here to begin the learning process and figure out its name.

Thalia. She was one of the nine muses, and although not one of music, Calliope and Euterpe did not quite tickle my fancy so much. I think if I ever play the role of a muse in another’s life, it would be more in Thalia’s role anyway. Her domain is that of comedy; hopefully she’ll help me keep a sense of humor about blundering through the mediocre beginnings!

I’ve had my hands off her for too long. I’ve got to get back to the playings!

 

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2011

Hi, random noter from the music circle – this is awesome! Go you for mandolin ownership. I’d love to own more unusual instruments. I hope you enjoy it.