Thalia

Those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music. -Nietchez

 

So, I haven’t had the motivation to noodle about on the interwebs as of late. My mandolin and I have been spending much time bonding, and I’m starting to not be hopelessly frustrated by the noises she makes. It all started to come together over "Corpus Christi Bay" of all songs, which is sort of not really made for the instrument at all. I keep finding that a lot of the songs I intend to learn are somehow not quite right when I look up the chord progression. It’s frustrating, but along the same vein, it means I start improvising my own music using these incorrect progressions, which is helping tremendously since I can’t emulate anyone else that way. I’m not too confident in my abilities, but I made myself play in public today, if the random inebriates that I’ve known for years gathered in the Beehive’s courtyard count as the public. Up until now, I’ve only been playing for the geese and willow trees along the south bank of the Monongehela river, so it was nice to hear some encouraging words that I didn’t just imagine. I even had more than a few of the musicians that loiter about the coffee shop telling me that I didn’t sound like I was in my first week of experience, so I feel like I received some genuine compliments.

Well, I have to be at work in 5 1/2 hours, so I better stop gushing about how awesome my mandolin and I are, and get some sleep. Goodnight to all in interwebs land.

I GOT BLISTERS ON ME FINGERS! NARF!

Log in to write a note