I have no memory of this place

Last night I went looking for an old friend with whom I used to speak on Facebook.  His long abandoned profile says he moved on to Prosebox so I went there to look for him.

I did a search and found one person with his user name, but discovered I had to create an account to leave a note.  So I attempted to do so, only to discover I already had one.  “Strange”, I thought, “I must have tried doing this search before or something”.

So I managed to log in and left a note saying “hey did you know about OD” blah blah and sent it.

Then I noticed I had a tab with a pending note and opened it.  The note had nothing to do with the person but it did reveal that I had a lengthy record of conversations on this account.  In fact, I have three months worth of entries on this site with notes from several people I know, involving conversations I was having at that time.

And I have no memory of it.

The ECT ate holes in my memory, so many holes that I am finding out about new things every month.  I’ll find a note, or an email, or – like this – a social media account, and have no memory of the things contained therein.

Apparently, I had a fight with this guy.  Apparently, we’re not even friends anymore.  Who’d have known?  Everyone but me, apparently.

I have forgotten holidays, people, hobbies that I spent months or years involved with.  It’s like someone took a tractor and plowed furrows through my mind.

If you’re ever in a position to get ECT, or know someone who is, I counsel serious caution.  It may help some people but the rest it just harms. (amusingly, I found an old post wherein I recount how the doctor told me – only after the process was completed and I’d been receiving the procedure for months – that she never expected it to work.)

Log in to write a note
February 8, 2019

Oh that’s heartbreaking. My Auntie had ECT when she was way younger and there are parts of her childhood she doesn’t remember anymore. I guess in some ways that makes these digital footprints mean something, you can sort of trace your past by going back to old spaces.

February 8, 2019

Is it common for ECT to mess with memories? That sounds just… I don’t know the right word. I can’t imagine how frustrating that would be. I’m really sorry

March 10, 2019

That’s a trip. What lead you to get ECT in the first place?