Closed

Ermagerd!!!!!  I have lived in Texas the majority of my life.  We had a big snow event in the 80’s that pretty much shut down San Antonio but never in my entire life have I seen the entire state shut down for what is basically an ice storm.  My office literally shut down from Monday at 5pm until today (Wednesday) at noon.  It wasn’t a matter of get here if you can, it was a firm directive to stay home!  The entire state closed the shutters and shut up shop.  LOL  

Not me….I went Monday night and picked up a momma dog and her 3 puppies who are a week old and transported them to one of my fosters who lives @ 30 minutes away.  Everybody was taken care of and tucked in before the cold weather hit.  One of the babies wasn’t doing well so we too her to our house to be nursed by my Mom but she was too far gone and passed anyway.  It was sad but it happens more often than not when the pups are in questionable health.  It still doesn’t get easier….I hope it never does, I don’t want to get that jaded.

I did come in to work today earlier than I was supposed to be here…I was so bored at home. LOL  I hope that we are finished with winter here.  I’ve just about had it with this cold weather!  Someone needs to shut the damn door!

Log in to write a note
BJ.
January 17, 2018

A friend of mine posted this same meme to my FB! However the entire state did not have an ice storm! I live in Lubbock, 385 miles northwest of San Antonio and we did not have ice, but did have the very cold temps! Matter of fact all of West Texas has had no snow or ice this winter and we usually do have some! We haven’t even had any rain since first of October and even though we are naturally dry, this is getting into drought which we often have! I lived in Austin for 10 years in the 90’s and I know what an ice storm is like down there. We are very flat here so not as bad.

January 17, 2018

I’m sorry the puppy didn’t make it.

I was in Austin in 1983 not long after an ice storm. I saw a lot of houses with outdoor plumbing. I was like, “There’s a Northern invention called Indoor Plumbing. Y’all should try it.” Nobody listened to me because I was just a know-it-all Yankee who didn’t know my place.