for.this.day

What a beautiful morning.  It’s 8am and it’s still cloudy and gray outside…and cool.  I know this, because I slept with my bedroom window open.  I woke up to the sound of a bird outside my window.  As a person who has a fear of birds (and, ok, hates birds) I am willing to admit that sometimes waking up to that sound can be very calming.  The fresh air and the voice of nature always reminds me of being out at the lake, which is where I’m most relaxed.  In addition to this, I had some wonderful dreams last night and I had the chance to snuggle up to Kevin for almost an hour before crawling out of bed.  He’s still asleep.  So here I am, sitting in the dark corner of my livingroom with a hot chocolate in my favourite green Tinkerbell coffee mug – It’s been a month since I’ve had any coffee, caffienated tea or soft drinks, can you believe it?! – and I feel perfectly happy and starry inside.  Who knew that at a time when some things are so uncertain, like my lack of employment for example, that I could feel so at peace?  Gorgeous.

It’s Thanksgiving weekend for those of us who live in Canada.  This means that it’s a long weekend.  Tomorrow we will be heading out to the lake to share a Sunday Thanksgiving dinner with my parents, my brother and Chelsea, Erica and the Klassens.  It’s a tradition we’ve come to rather enjoy over the last 6 or 7 years.  The turkey is always done to absolute perfection on the BBQ, and my Mom’s pumpkin pie is always to die for, it’s like gold.  My contribution to dinner this year is going to be roasted red pepper and feta bruschetta.  For some reason I’m always being given the appetisers as a responsibility.  Which, I suppose, is fair enough as they’re always a lot of fun to make.  I’m sure the entire meal this year will be lovely.

It certainly feels and looks like fall these days.  Early October is always quite pretty, I enjoy the crisp cool air before it really has a biting cold to it.  Since living in Australia, I’ve really come to appreciate the different seasons and how they change throughout the year.  Fall and spring are always a time for change to me and always make me feel like a new person.  I don’t think I’d want to trade that back for anything.  I love walking out the door with my mittens and scarf on almost as much as I love running around in a bikini all summer.  I have a lot to be thankful for this year. 

 
So here’s to another new begining.  And here’s to friends, family, and loved ones, the fact that we all have shelters over our heads and food on the table!  Happy Thanksgiving.

xx
Kristin

Log in to write a note
October 9, 2007

hope you had a good thanksgiving! 🙂