This is Education

I’m back!  I missed out on the opportunity to write yesterday, but for good reason. I was actually able to go in to work for a few hours.  My goodness was it a strange experience. I’ve been in the school many times without kids present, but currently only 8 staff are allowed in the building at one time so it truly is quiet.  Nothing like re-connecting with coworkers from 2 metres away. Ha!  It was so nice just to get out of the house for a little bit.

I’m becoming increasingly frustrated with much of the sentiment I’m seeing online, regarding the current state of education. As a Mom, I absolutely understand why teaching our kids at home can be a lot to handle and to process. I get that! I am in the same boat, trying to balance working from home and making sure my school aged kids aren’t falling behind academically. However, when I see parents complaining that teachers and educational assistants shouldn’t be getting paid right now it drives me bananas. I don’t think many people realize how much work is going on behind the scenes on a daily basis.

Teachers are working so, so hard. Their workload is literally doubled with trying to plan digital lessons, filming instruction videos, responding to parent questions and students, marking and assessing and really looking at the days ahead at how this will all continue. There are new apps to learn and to teach. They have meeting after meeting with school divisions, other teachers and so on. I’m watching my supervising teacher as she literally works from the floor in her bedroom closet each day, so that her toddler doesn’t interrupt her.  It’s a lot!  They deserve so much more than the backlash they seem to be getting from some, and it’s heartbreaking.

As an EA I’m doing everything I can to support my students remotely. I’m now setting up Face Time meetings with them, going through the online classroom and commenting on their work, meeting with other school staff to discuss the best ways we can take care of our underprivileged kids during this time. Yesterday, we were putting together paper learning packages for all of our students. The first time we did this, it took 4 full days to prepare each package and now we have to do the same while maintaining good social distancing practices. Only one person is allowed to use the photocopier — It’s a hassle.

On top of all of this — we FEEL for the kids. This is taking an emotional toll on all of us. I miss my students!  I worry day and night about some of them, knowing that school was their only safe space and wondering what life looks like for them right now.

Anyway, I know that as a parent I am extremely appreciative of everything my children’s teachers are doing to get them through this.  Yes, the long list of apps are a pain in the butt, no I don’t have a good grasp on the new math curriculum and heck yeah it’s a struggle some days!  I know there are a lot of wonderful families out there who are going above and beyond with their small students. I just wish that more of the general public would realize what a trying time this is for educators. We’re not all just sitting at home with a bag of bonbons and the TV remote. An open mind and a little kindness goes a long way.

And now as it’s a glorious Saturday morning, I’m off to bake some bread. 🙂

 

x K.

Log in to write a note