And the book says

Thank god for the royal wedding. Not that I actually watched it, I really couldn’t care less, but town wasn’t as busy as it usually is on a Saturday.

I’ve had to change ISP. It’s slightly annoying at the moment. My new router is set up, it’s getting a broadband signal but there’s no internet yet. Grrrrrrrr! So, at the moment I’m tethering my laptop to my tablet and using the 4G on that. Though I’m lucky I can even do that right now. More on that later.

My new ISP is also my mobile phone company, so I’m getting an extra 5 gig of mobile data on my phone. Which I won’t really need as my phone will mostly be connected to the wifi, but whatever. Still cool.

I’ve been surprisingly busy this week. Last Saturday I went to an event run by Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art. It started with a talk by the people running the event, where the pic in this entry was taken (the salmon fan is used to determine the shade of salmon produced by salmon farms). From there we went to Middlehaven, the Tees Barrage, the beach and RSPB Sandholme. It was an interesting and educational day. I also managed to raise a fair bit for Habitat for Humanity using the Charity Miles app.

Saturday night was, of course, Eurovision night. The British entry involved a stage invasion, the presenters ranged from good to god awful and the results threw up a fair few surprises. My personal favourite song didn’t win, but I like the song that did. It’s not as good as last years winner (which I still absolutely adore), but I do like it. It’s really divided the fans though. The amount of salt from people that didn’t like it is incredible. Here, for your delectation, is this years winning Eurovision song:

Monday was my appointment for claiming JSA. Which went about as I was expecting. The only good news to come out of it is that, as my next signing date is actually bank holiday Monday I don’t need to go back for another month.

Yesterday was interesting. I got a text message telling me that they were going to be paying me a weeks money, on which I have to survive a fortnight. Great. Then my mobile phone company cut my service. And I didn’t have the full amount to give them. Thankfully, they took mercy on me, reconnected my services and put a note on the system saying not to cut me off for another two weeks.

I’ve worked out that I should be able to afford one subscription service for here on. The only question is if I should go with the WWE Network or Netflix. The former would give me access to PPV’s and NXT, but I know I’ll get more use out of the latter.

We’ll see.

Will

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2018

I didn’t watch the Roayal wedding either…..Will see it on the news maybe.

May 19, 2018

have  a  nice weekend

May 19, 2018

The video is not available in my country.

I don’t have a television service so no royal wedding here.  The bride, from pictures I’ve seen, was most elegant.

May 19, 2018

@zhnee Ahhhhhh, bollocks.  Completely forgot that the official Eurovision YouTube channel was blocked in the states.  Using a different video now, hopefully you can see it

May 19, 2018

@williamthebloody I really like this song!  I had to look up the lyrics.  She’s amazing.

Thanks.

May 20, 2018

Were people salty about the song due to concerns of cultural appropriation or something?

May 20, 2018

@tiffany_b partly that, partly because it’s Israel, partly her weight, partly the fact the song ties into #metoo and partly they just don’t like the song

May 20, 2018

@williamthebloody, yes god forbid a chubby woman joins the #metoo movement 😉

May 29, 2018

I love WWE but I am very selective about the months I pay for the network. I would go for Netflix personally, especially with a new season of ‘Glow’ shortly to arrive. This year’s Eurovision was one of the best I have seen for some years. Can you remember who it was you wanted to win? My favourite was Moldova (the one with the doors) but I was perfectly happy to see Isreal win.

May 29, 2018

@rodge my favourite was Estonia.  The song was good, the singing was mind blowing and that dress was brilliant.  I did throw a vote to Israel as well though