Crowded House ‘plan world tour’

Australian and New Zealand band Crowded House are set to reform for a world tour 11 years after they spilt, according to newspaper reports.
Singer Neil Finn and bass player Nick Seymour are currently seeking drummers in Australia, with more auditions planned for New Zealand and the US.

The band’s original drummer, Paul Hester, committed suicide in 2005.

Crowded House, whose hits include Distant Sun, will confirm the tour this week, New Zealand’s Dominion Post said.

Farewell concert

Julia Connolly, a spokeswoman for Finn’s office, told the newspaper that auditions were planned in Auckland and Los Angeles.

“At the moment, they’re just working at getting the band together,” she said.

“Something’s formally coming out once the band is in place.”

Crowded House, headed by New Zealand-born Finn, formed in Melbourne, Australia, in 1986.

They had hits with songs such as Better Be Home Soon, Weather With You, and Don’t Dream It’s Over.

In November 1996, the band performed in front of 120,000 people outside Sydney Opera House for their farewell concert.

Since then Finn embarked on a solo career, and worked with his brother Tim, who was also a member of Crowded House for a short time.

Seymour works as a music producer, while Hester became a TV and radio personality in Australia, before taking his own life at the age of 46.

Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/entertainment/6290091.stm

Published: 2007/01/23 11:10:19 GMT

© BBC MMVII

Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me. Please let this be true. Please let them be performing near me.

Will

Log in to write a note
January 23, 2007

Hope you get to see them! ^^ *adds to favs* =)

January 23, 2007

Hope you get to see them! ^^ *adds to favs* =)

January 23, 2007

Nice entry…hope you get to see them also.

January 23, 2007

Nice entry…hope you get to see them also.

January 23, 2007

If they end up performing in Toronto, Buffalo or Detriot, I will do whatever it takes to be there. I love this band and would love to see them in concert. Fingers are crossed, hoping they will peform near me as well! Later,

January 23, 2007

If they end up performing in Toronto, Buffalo or Detriot, I will do whatever it takes to be there. I love this band and would love to see them in concert. Fingers are crossed, hoping they will peform near me as well! Later,

ryn: are there regular meetings? i love groups! 😉

ryn: are there regular meetings? i love groups! 😉

January 24, 2007

Ooh. Love Crowded House. RYN: Well, Ninja’s just RULE.

January 24, 2007

Ooh. Love Crowded House. RYN: Well, Ninja’s just RULE.

ryn: Go ahead, so long as you don’t copy my bands. 😉

ryn: Go ahead, so long as you don’t copy my bands. 😉