Football answers

I know i said that I’d answer these before now, but I decided to wait till today and do so to celebrate the start of the new season.

Well, that’s my stoyry and I’m sticking to it :¬p

Let’s get started.

Rodge wanted to know:
How do you feel about former Rangers defender Marvin Andrews winning a one-year contract with Hamilton Academical after rejecting a new deal with Raith Rovers?

Good on him. I can see why he did it, as it was a choice between SPL or First Division football. As long as he doesn’t play too well against the Dons.

pheric asked:
Where do you think City will finish in the EPL this year after the laundry list of moves they’ve made?

Honestly? I kinda like the way that City have done things. With one or two exceptions Mark Hughes seems to have gone for players that he needed rather than just buying big names for the sake of buying big names (Real madrid, I’m looking at you here). With that said, I don’t think they’ll crack the top four this season. While i think Arsenal are weak (they haven’t bought any players but have lost a lot, they’ll need Arshavin to get through the season injury free) I think if anyone will break the top four it’ll likely be Everton or Aston Villa (both have made shrewd buys and both managers, IMHO, are better than Hughes). City will qualify for Europe this season and they may sneak a trophy. But they won’t get Champions League football next season.

popeyechicken asked quite a personal question:
what’s the best football match you’ve personally attended?

Probably the first one I went to. Aberdeen Vs Rest Of The World XI for Willie Millers testimonial. Me, my dad and my brother sitting on a bench at the old Beach End. It was a good game even if Aberdeen did lose.

Kaly enquired:
Give me your personal opinion on Tim Howard.

I haven’t seen much of him playing, but from what i have seen he’s a decent enough keeper. Sorry I can’t say too much more than that.

I have no idea who left these two:
What are your feelings on AFL???

Australian Rules? The very little that I have seen looks alright.

What about international rules football?

Never seen it. Never even heard of it until this question was asked. (For the curious, it’s a mix of Galic and Aussie Rules.)

And finaly, The Mary ask some questions:
Who do you think will go to the Superbowl?

Unless they’ve changed the rules, one team from each league. I have no interest in American Football. I have no interest in a misnamed sport where play is stopped when the ball moves one yard and the entire game takes about twice as long as the regulated time. Sorry.

Are the Manchester United fans really that obnoxiously awesome?

They are more obnoxious than awesome. The problem is that a) a lot of them don’t seem to come from manchester at all and b) they have got so used to success that they think they have a divine right to win every game and trophy. Chelsea fans are getting the same.

AND, how many people have died throughout the history of the game due to stampeding fans?

Far, far too many. Course, if the answer was only one it’d still be far, far too many.

And that’s yer lot. This was actually quite good fun, so I might do another one next week with either politics or television. Keep an eye out.

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
August 14, 2009

Oh yay, football answers! I had no idea about “international” rules football. That’s got to be a hoot to watch. Aussie is weird enough… At the time I asked the question I of course had the biggest crush on Howard. I still think he’s a great American keeper, but there are better in the world. He’s just fun to watch, IMHO. Wish our national team were better, but maybe we’ll be there in… twenty years. 🙂

August 14, 2009

Oh yay, football answers! I had no idea about “international” rules football. That’s got to be a hoot to watch. Aussie is weird enough… At the time I asked the question I of course had the biggest crush on Howard. I still think he’s a great American keeper, but there are better in the world. He’s just fun to watch, IMHO. Wish our national team were better, but maybe we’ll be there in… twenty years. 🙂

August 14, 2009

Oh yay, football answers! I had no idea about “international” rules football. That’s got to be a hoot to watch. Aussie is weird enough… At the time I asked the question I of course had the biggest crush on Howard. I still think he’s a great American keeper, but there are better in the world. He’s just fun to watch, IMHO. Wish our national team were better, but maybe we’ll be there in… twenty years. 🙂

August 14, 2009

“entire game takes about twice as long as the regulated time. ” More like three times. A Pointyball game is 60 minutes on the clock that only has about 12 minutes of actual action but is stretched out to 3+ hours.

August 14, 2009

“entire game takes about twice as long as the regulated time. ” More like three times. A Pointyball game is 60 minutes on the clock that only has about 12 minutes of actual action but is stretched out to 3+ hours.

August 14, 2009

“entire game takes about twice as long as the regulated time. ” More like three times. A Pointyball game is 60 minutes on the clock that only has about 12 minutes of actual action but is stretched out to 3+ hours.

August 14, 2009

The guardian summed up Manchester United best a couple of seasons ago in their preview… “Manchester United fans say they are unfairly maligned by other teams supporters for not being from Manchester. This is patently untrue… Fact of the day: There are currently over 20 million registered Man Utd fans in China. The Greater Manchester area has a population of just over 1 million…”

August 14, 2009

The guardian summed up Manchester United best a couple of seasons ago in their preview… “Manchester United fans say they are unfairly maligned by other teams supporters for not being from Manchester. This is patently untrue… Fact of the day: There are currently over 20 million registered Man Utd fans in China. The Greater Manchester area has a population of just over 1 million…”

August 14, 2009

The guardian summed up Manchester United best a couple of seasons ago in their preview… “Manchester United fans say they are unfairly maligned by other teams supporters for not being from Manchester. This is patently untrue… Fact of the day: There are currently over 20 million registered Man Utd fans in China. The Greater Manchester area has a population of just over 1 million…”

August 15, 2009

and so the new season begins ….

August 15, 2009

and so the new season begins ….

August 15, 2009

and so the new season begins ….

August 15, 2009

:OP

August 15, 2009

:OP

August 15, 2009

:OP

August 17, 2009

RYN: Is there only the two pages? Dang, I was just getting into it! *pretends to waggle finger at you in mock affront* Tease! 😉 ~Shady

August 17, 2009

RYN: Is there only the two pages? Dang, I was just getting into it! *pretends to waggle finger at you in mock affront* Tease! 😉 ~Shady

August 17, 2009

RYN: Is there only the two pages? Dang, I was just getting into it! *pretends to waggle finger at you in mock affront* Tease! 😉 ~Shady

August 18, 2009

RYN: “I could have sent you to the most addictive site on the internet.” Ye gods, do I even want to know? *looks scared* Then again, chances are good I’ve already been there. *hehehe* ~Shady

August 18, 2009

RYN: “I could have sent you to the most addictive site on the internet.” Ye gods, do I even want to know? *looks scared* Then again, chances are good I’ve already been there. *hehehe* ~Shady

August 18, 2009

RYN: “I could have sent you to the most addictive site on the internet.” Ye gods, do I even want to know? *looks scared* Then again, chances are good I’ve already been there. *hehehe* ~Shady