Christ, I feel old

When I was younger I used to love playing arcade games. My favourite type of cabinet was the table top ones.

photobucket

This isn’t the type that I used to play. The ones that I’m used to, the controls were in the long side, just by my knees. You could only go left and right, which is why it’s probably just as well that the game was Space Invaders.

So you can imagine my surprise when I went to the pub yesterday and saw this:

photobucket

Admittedly it uses touch screen technology rather than buttons and joysticks. It also lets you use google maps and surf the web. Still cool though.

photobucket

And there’s no Space Invaders yet. But hopefully, there will be.

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2009

Oh I love it! I want to play one!

August 12, 2009

Oh I love it! I want to play one!

August 12, 2009

Oh I love it! I want to play one!

some of my fondest memories were the same, playing the sit down version of Gallaga with my best friend, in the local Marriot hotel lobby. We frequented the arcade with the stand-up versions too, but the lone sit-down game at the Marriot was a special difference.

some of my fondest memories were the same, playing the sit down version of Gallaga with my best friend, in the local Marriot hotel lobby. We frequented the arcade with the stand-up versions too, but the lone sit-down game at the Marriot was a special difference.

some of my fondest memories were the same, playing the sit down version of Gallaga with my best friend, in the local Marriot hotel lobby. We frequented the arcade with the stand-up versions too, but the lone sit-down game at the Marriot was a special difference.

August 12, 2009

That is soooooo cool.

August 12, 2009

That is soooooo cool.

August 12, 2009

That is soooooo cool.

August 12, 2009

High tech! The bar I go to has the old type, it’s Pac-Man though, not Space Invaders. I’m not any better at it drunk than sober…

August 12, 2009

High tech! The bar I go to has the old type, it’s Pac-Man though, not Space Invaders. I’m not any better at it drunk than sober…

August 12, 2009

High tech! The bar I go to has the old type, it’s Pac-Man though, not Space Invaders. I’m not any better at it drunk than sober…

August 12, 2009

nice!

August 12, 2009

nice!

August 12, 2009

nice!

August 12, 2009

woop! thats so cool!! x x

August 12, 2009

woop! thats so cool!! x x

August 12, 2009

woop! thats so cool!! x x

That looks expensive! I wonder if the cost of drinks there is going to suddenly shoot up to pay for it? 😉 Seriously though, looks fun.

That looks expensive! I wonder if the cost of drinks there is going to suddenly shoot up to pay for it? 😉 Seriously though, looks fun.

That looks expensive! I wonder if the cost of drinks there is going to suddenly shoot up to pay for it? 😉 Seriously though, looks fun.

August 13, 2009

Hmm, gotta love pub technology. They are yet to invent any sort of pub machine that can survive having a full pint spilled on it though.

August 13, 2009

Hmm, gotta love pub technology. They are yet to invent any sort of pub machine that can survive having a full pint spilled on it though.

August 13, 2009

Hmm, gotta love pub technology. They are yet to invent any sort of pub machine that can survive having a full pint spilled on it though.

Very cool x x

Very cool x x

Very cool x x

August 15, 2009

you’ll be too young to remember the other reord shop who brought the TT games to aberdeen, used to skive maths to go and play

August 15, 2009

you’ll be too young to remember the other reord shop who brought the TT games to aberdeen, used to skive maths to go and play

August 15, 2009

you’ll be too young to remember the other reord shop who brought the TT games to aberdeen, used to skive maths to go and play

August 18, 2009

i remember them as well 🙂 which pub is this in?

August 18, 2009

i remember them as well 🙂 which pub is this in?

August 18, 2009

i remember them as well 🙂 which pub is this in?