I might be seeing my best friend on Saturday!

I haven’t seen my best friend for ages.  Even before lockdown, I hadn’t seen her for months.  In fact, I was thinking about arranging to meet up with her and her lad literally a week after lockdown was announced.

And so, we’ve been texting each other to check in and tell jokes and stuff like that.  And it’s been fine and that’s pretty much what our relationship has always been.

Then yesterday, we were introduced to the concept of the safety bubble by our “esteemed” Prime Minister.  What’s a safety bubble?

Well, as of Saturday, anyone living on their own (or a single parent with a kid under 18)can pick one household of any size.  Those two households can spend time inside together without social distancing.  They can stay over if they want.

Now, there are rules.  Once one house is bubbling with another, neither can do so with another house.  And if one person in the bubble gets symptoms, everyone has to isolate and test.

Now, this is supposed to be so that grandparents can spend time with their grandkids.  But, you can pretty much guess that it’s been described more in terms of people shagging.  It also doesn’t hurt that this means that single parents can have childcare.

There are a lot of questions, but there always are with the Governments announcements.

Now, I live on my own.  So I phoned my best friend and asked if her and her lad fancied a visit on Saturday.  After assuring her this was allowed, she said she would like to see me, but it depends on how she feels.  So, she’s going to text on Saturday.  Hopefully, she’s up for it.

Will

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2020

Here in Canada we can’t do that just yet but we can be outside and 6 feet away so i am opting not to do that because being 6 feet away from someone you actually care about really sucks.  I hope your friend will come over and maybe you can even try a new recipe for dinner?

June 13, 2020

@jaythesmartone yes  we in Canada  you  need  6 feet away  from outers

kat
June 11, 2020

enjoy! I really missed my bestie.

June 12, 2020

Tried the Orange Chicken recipe today. I subbed drumsticks for thighs and used plain orange marmalade.  Thanks for the recipe. It is a definite keeper. Just delicious! Next time, I might add some freshly grated ginger and a bit more garlic.

June 13, 2020

in Canada  you  need  6 feet away  from outers

June 13, 2020

@ihavenoarms same here, with this one exception

June 18, 2020

I hope you managed to meet with your friend. We got the bubble announcement from Nicola today