I is an idiot

Full pic:

Last weekend, I decided to make chicken in mushroom sauce in my slow cooker.  One of the ingredients is marsala wine.  A quick Google showed me that I could use Pinoit Noir instead, so I got a bottle of that.  Needing to use the rest of the wine (I’m not a big wine drinker, particularly red wine) I decided to make beef casserole during the week.  I put everything in, started it cooking, when, about an hour before it was due to be finished, I realised I forgot to add tomato paste.  I then discovered that I didn’t have any.

So, here’s a pic of what it looked like:

I’m not judging it taste wise until I make it properly.  And the chicken in mushroom sauce?

I’m ripping this recipe up and starting almost from scratch.  The only things that will survive is the chicken, the mushrooms and the onions.  I’m going to use mushroom soup rather than chicken (seriously, why say it’s a mushroom sauce when it’s not?) and I’m going to try white wine instead of red.  And I’ll be using a damn sight more than a tablespoon.

At the moment, I’m making beef and shallots in a red wine gravy.  We’ll see how that goes.

I did see my best friend last week, but not in the way I was expecting.  She texted last Friday to say she wasn’t up for a visit and that she’d spoken to her doctor about headaches she’s been having.  The doctor prescribed painkillers and she wasn’t sure about going into town to pick them up.  I needed to go shopping anyway, so I offered to get them and take them out.  So, it was a quick “here’s the meds”, but I still got to see her.

My boiler stopped working last weekend.  It was saying low water pressure, but it wouldn’t let me add water.  The plumber seemed to think it was something I was doing wrong.  Turned out, it was a valve that was knackered.  So, it’s working now.

I’ve started a wall of music.  Here’s the beginning:

It’s in the hallway, so it’s hard to get a decent pic of.  The top one is my No Man’s Land one signed by Frank Turner and the bottom one is the first of 13 I’m getting from Stanley Odd.

I’m waiting for the frame to add this:

And I’m waiting to get the Dropkick Murphy’s one and the one signed by Frank Turner and Beans on Toast.

Will

Log in to write a note
June 20, 2020

When you revamp that recipe let me know how it turned out….

June 20, 2020

Nice that you got to see your friend. Hopefully she feels better soon and your next visit will be longer.

Love the idea of a music wall!

June 20, 2020

@cluinn I decided to have a music wall when I realised just how many music pictures I’d have to put up.  Just made sense to gather them all together

June 20, 2020

P. S.  So impressed you managed to get a plumber within a week!

June 20, 2020

ARGH. The pic is giving me the eebie-jeebies because of the lack of trigger discipline… YES I know it’s just a picture she posed for but it still makes me want to climb the walls! 🙂

OMG chicken w/mushroom sauce… mouthwatering. I detest the fact that I hate cooking and a ton of men actually like it.

I hope your friend is feeling better. Headaches sound like your everyday kind of trivial thing but they can be horrid.