In which Will is back in the LRC

Hogmanay was quite quiet. I went for my now traditional mini crawl round the bars in the Belmont Street area of Aberdeen and saw in the bells with a pint of Tennants, a nip of whisky and my darling fiancee on the phone with me.

New Years Day itself was quiet. I was thinking about going to see Che part 1 and 2, but the tickets were £12 and I really couldn’t afford it. So I basically did nothing. And it was pretty much the same on the second.

The Saturday I had to go into town to pick up my tickets for returning to Middlesbrough. Sadly, this meant that I couldn’t go to Sandhaven to visit my gran.

I got home, watched Dr Who Confidential (see last entry). I will add to this that I’m getting sick and bloody tired of people critisizing him before we’ve actually seen him in the role. For the love of FSM, does it bloody matter if he is only 26, or not black, or not female, or appears to have no eyebrows (a serious complaint from some)?

Then I settled down to watch Demons. Oh dear FSM. I had hopes that it would be watchable. Particularly with the Van Helsing connection. But between Philip Glenisters shite American accent (just let him use his normal accent, that’ll distance him from Hunt), the fact that a 16 year old lad is apparently the last of the Van Helsing bloodline (and the indications are that they actually mean the last ever despite the fact it appears the guy has never even had a girlfriend) and the naming of a character Ruby apparently just so they could use the song I had to give up.

Which is a shame, cos the person playing Mina Harker is quite nice to look at.

Then my friend Lewis came round. Which was cool as I hadn’t seen him in ages. We had a few drinks (actually, we got pissed), listened to music, watched Ren & Stimpy, I introduced him to Dr Horrible and got caught up. It was fun.

Sunday was also quite a relaxed day. well, apart from the packing I needed to do. I really hate packing, even if it is for a holiday.

I also got a shock when I found out that one of my favourites here on OD, Liberalis Femina, passed away. I know I’m slightly late to the party on this one but I think the thing that shows her character isn’t the number of people who agreed with her politically who have commented on her death but rather the amount of people she didn’t agree with who have remarked on what a good person she is.

And yesterday was the trip. Got to Edinburgh ok and this is where I hit problems. Due to the previous 2 Kings Cross trains being cancelled there were three trainloads on the one train. Now, this shouldn’t have been a problem for me as I has a seat booked on that train. Except someone had taken the reserved sign off my seat and sat in it. I founf somewhere else to sit. Unfortunately, that seat was reserved from Newcastle and the person did want their seat. So, for the half hour journey from Newcastle to darlington I had to stand in the doorway. Darlo to Boro wasn’t an issue.

Got home, dumped my stuff, came to the LRC to check emails and such and then it was off to a free screening of Slumdog Millionaire. I’d been wanting to see this film for a while and when I got the chance to go to a free screening I just had to take it. Short review? Brilliant. Well worth going to see.

I then headed to the union, had a couple of pints with friends, spoke to Daphne online, got some food and home.

And that’s things right up to date.

Will

[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2009

All we are saying is give Smith a chance … Anyway, I’m going to give “Demons” one more chance, but you’re right, it’s not looking promising. A pint of Tennant’s? Can I have a pint of Tennant? 😀

January 6, 2009

All we are saying is give Smith a chance … Anyway, I’m going to give “Demons” one more chance, but you’re right, it’s not looking promising. A pint of Tennant’s? Can I have a pint of Tennant? 😀

January 6, 2009

All we are saying is give Smith a chance … Anyway, I’m going to give “Demons” one more chance, but you’re right, it’s not looking promising. A pint of Tennant’s? Can I have a pint of Tennant? 😀

January 6, 2009

You’re nicer then me – I’d thrown that person out of my seat!

January 6, 2009

You’re nicer then me – I’d thrown that person out of my seat!

January 6, 2009

You’re nicer then me – I’d thrown that person out of my seat!

January 6, 2009

I was disappointed with Demons as well, which is annoying. If I remember, I might watch the next episode, but I’m not going to go mental if I miss it. Shame really. And I thought the same thing about Ruby!

January 6, 2009

I was disappointed with Demons as well, which is annoying. If I remember, I might watch the next episode, but I’m not going to go mental if I miss it. Shame really. And I thought the same thing about Ruby!

January 6, 2009

I was disappointed with Demons as well, which is annoying. If I remember, I might watch the next episode, but I’m not going to go mental if I miss it. Shame really. And I thought the same thing about Ruby!

January 6, 2009

I am just critical of Matt Smith because deep down (well, not actually even very deep…) I am jealous. Wouldn’t it be so awesome to play him? I am actually confident Matty Boy will do a decent job of it, and should be a lot better than David ‘Do it half-arsed since halfway through series 4’ Tennant was.

January 6, 2009

I am just critical of Matt Smith because deep down (well, not actually even very deep…) I am jealous. Wouldn’t it be so awesome to play him? I am actually confident Matty Boy will do a decent job of it, and should be a lot better than David ‘Do it half-arsed since halfway through series 4’ Tennant was.

January 6, 2009

I am just critical of Matt Smith because deep down (well, not actually even very deep…) I am jealous. Wouldn’t it be so awesome to play him? I am actually confident Matty Boy will do a decent job of it, and should be a lot better than David ‘Do it half-arsed since halfway through series 4’ Tennant was.

I’m sure that Matt Smith will do a great job. I don’t know much about him but he looks interesting anyhow. 🙂

I’m sure that Matt Smith will do a great job. I don’t know much about him but he looks interesting anyhow. 🙂

I’m sure that Matt Smith will do a great job. I don’t know much about him but he looks interesting anyhow. 🙂

January 6, 2009

Glad you got home safe. *hugs* Just think what you will have to pack to move to a new place or to America if that ever happens. 😉 *snogs* 😉

January 6, 2009

Glad you got home safe. *hugs* Just think what you will have to pack to move to a new place or to America if that ever happens. 😉 *snogs* 😉

January 6, 2009

Glad you got home safe. *hugs* Just think what you will have to pack to move to a new place or to America if that ever happens. 😉 *snogs* 😉

January 6, 2009

Well done! 🙂

January 6, 2009

Well done! 🙂

January 6, 2009

Well done! 🙂

January 6, 2009

ryn: To be 100% honest, I was disappointed they were casting someone young. I was hoping we’d go back to someone older, even William Hartnell age, even though I knew that was unlikely. But as I say, the powers that be haven’t been wrong about the previous 10 actors, so … I remember how betrayed I felt when I first heard the news David was leaving. a) because I luff him, even if his Doctor

January 6, 2009

ryn: To be 100% honest, I was disappointed they were casting someone young. I was hoping we’d go back to someone older, even William Hartnell age, even though I knew that was unlikely. But as I say, the powers that be haven’t been wrong about the previous 10 actors, so … I remember how betrayed I felt when I first heard the news David was leaving. a) because I luff him, even if his Doctor

January 6, 2009

ryn: To be 100% honest, I was disappointed they were casting someone young. I was hoping we’d go back to someone older, even William Hartnell age, even though I knew that was unlikely. But as I say, the powers that be haven’t been wrong about the previous 10 actors, so … I remember how betrayed I felt when I first heard the news David was leaving. a) because I luff him, even if his Doctor

January 7, 2009

…isn’t my favorite, b) because we went through that whole deal of having the specials in 2009, and I thought for sure that meant he was staying through 2010. I cooled down, eventually, though, but I suppose I can understand where some of these fans are coming from. That’s no excuse to bash Matt before he’s even left the gate, esp. if it’s just because he has no eyebrows! Mind you, he didn’t

January 7, 2009

…isn’t my favorite, b) because we went through that whole deal of having the specials in 2009, and I thought for sure that meant he was staying through 2010. I cooled down, eventually, though, but I suppose I can understand where some of these fans are coming from. That’s no excuse to bash Matt before he’s even left the gate, esp. if it’s just because he has no eyebrows! Mind you, he didn’t

January 7, 2009

…isn’t my favorite, b) because we went through that whole deal of having the specials in 2009, and I thought for sure that meant he was staying through 2010. I cooled down, eventually, though, but I suppose I can understand where some of these fans are coming from. That’s no excuse to bash Matt before he’s even left the gate, esp. if it’s just because he has no eyebrows! Mind you, he didn’t

January 7, 2009

… come across as particularly well-spoken or aware of the show’s history in that Confidential interview, but he did say he would take the next six months to research. As a final point, I spoke to someone who’s a very casual Who fan with young children who said she thought undoubtedly the show was never going to be as good once RTD left the helm (she’s also Welsh). I told her that Moffat has

January 7, 2009

… come across as particularly well-spoken or aware of the show’s history in that Confidential interview, but he did say he would take the next six months to research. As a final point, I spoke to someone who’s a very casual Who fan with young children who said she thought undoubtedly the show was never going to be as good once RTD left the helm (she’s also Welsh). I told her that Moffat has

January 7, 2009

… come across as particularly well-spoken or aware of the show’s history in that Confidential interview, but he did say he would take the next six months to research. As a final point, I spoke to someone who’s a very casual Who fan with young children who said she thought undoubtedly the show was never going to be as good once RTD left the helm (she’s also Welsh). I told her that Moffat has

January 7, 2009

… written some of the most acclaimed eps and has always been a fan, at which point she sort of lost the conviction of what she’d been saying. I can’t believe it took me 4 notes to get that out!

January 7, 2009

… written some of the most acclaimed eps and has always been a fan, at which point she sort of lost the conviction of what she’d been saying. I can’t believe it took me 4 notes to get that out!

January 7, 2009

… written some of the most acclaimed eps and has always been a fan, at which point she sort of lost the conviction of what she’d been saying. I can’t believe it took me 4 notes to get that out!