Music part the first: The Beatles

This is inspired by Shukhevych’s music entries. Unlike Shuk, however, I’m going to use these to talk about some of my favourite bands and let you hear a couple of my favourite songs by them. There will, however, be a few surprise entries.

I was first introduced to the music of The Beatles when I watched a documentary about the making of Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band. I liked the music, asked for, and got, the album for my birthday and it spent so long in my personal stereo that the tape broke.

The first thing to notice about the band is the talent. John on rhythm guitar, Paul on bass. George’s awesome performances on lead guitar. And I don’t care what anyone says, listen to A Day In The Life, where the drumming style changes at least twice, and then tell me he is not the best drummer ever.

But the incredible talent isn’t just shown on the instruments. In any other band, any band whatsoever, George Harrison would have been the main songwriter. In The Beatles, however, he was third behind Lennon and McCartney. And it wasn’t the writing together that made them so damn good, it was the competition between them, encouraging them to try and top each others last song. And while Ringo may not be the best songwriter in the world he still wasn’t too shabby. Octopus’s Garden is infused with joy and an amazing childlike quality.

Also, forget Bowie or Madonna, The Beatles showed the music world how to reinvent yourself. It would have been easy for them to wither and die during the start of psychedelia, but they took it head on and won (admittedly, with the help of copious amounts of drugs).

It’s a shame things had to end the way they did (listening to How Do You Sleep (a not even veiled attack on Paul) on the Imagine album is hard going) but perhaps it was for the best. I doubt if they would have gone on to be like the Stones and at least they went out on a high.

And now the music.

The first song is Strawberry Fields Forever, which is one of the best songs never to make it to number one in Britain (it was beaten to the top by Please Release Me). I believe the Americans showed a bit more taste. The next one I was pleasantly surprised to find on youtube. It’s While My Guitar Gently Weeps, but it’s the demo version which is version very slightly remixed for the Love album.

Anyhoo, on with the music!

Strawberry Fields Forever:

While My Guitar Gently Weeps:

Will

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2007

I love love love the Beatles. They are my number one favorite, and I argue with people about them all the time. It’s cool to see another fan’s opinion. And While My Guitar Gently Weeps is one of my favorite songs that the Beatles did.

January 29, 2007

I love love love the Beatles. They are my number one favorite, and I argue with people about them all the time. It’s cool to see another fan’s opinion. And While My Guitar Gently Weeps is one of my favorite songs that the Beatles did.

Both are very pretty songs, though I’m not sure if you can really call Ringo THAT spectaular of a drummer. I think Bonham and Moon beat him out.

Both are very pretty songs, though I’m not sure if you can really call Ringo THAT spectaular of a drummer. I think Bonham and Moon beat him out.

January 29, 2007

Interesting that one of the best Beatles songs ever (While My Guitar Gently Weeps) was not written by Lennon/McCartney. And in response to Shuk, Ringo was not the flashy drummer that Moon and Bonham were, and probably not technically as good as those two. But he, like Charlie Watts, did EXACTLY what was needed for the band.

“THAT’S what Ringo was so good at.” Aye, after reading your comments, and Zaphod’s, I definitely see the valid comparisons and credit due to Ringo. 🙂