This is not a drill

So, I’m still using the computers in the university LRC. And earlier on the fire alarm went off. Virtually no-one moved until someone said the above line. I’m sitting not far from one of the fire escapes so I took the opertunity to open the thing. Turns out it was a false alarm.

But, really, how much of a sign do you need that there is a problem with the alarms when peoples first reaction is to actually do nothing? I swear to Bob that we would actually need to see flames before moving.

I think I’ve found a way to solve the pacing problems in my script that I mentioned before. At least for now. It does mean creating a new(ish) character, which unfortunately means naming him 🙁 (Naming characters is one of the hardest things about the whole process.) So, if any of my male readers would like to have a hired heavy named after them in the script, let me know. Also if you have any suggestions. (Yes, I know, I’m lazy :¬p)

It also means I’m about to write the first fight scene I’ve ever written. I don’t mean as in verbal arguments, I mean actual fisticuffs. We’ll see how it goes.

I’m slightly torn about something. I’m tempted to send a copy of what I’ve done so far to them’s who said they’d like to read it (once i’ve got email addresses) but then there’s the thing about never showing anyone a work in progress. Hmmm. Any thoughts?

I was going to get some writing done last night but I ended up watching Top Gear instead. It was the first show since Richard Hammonds accident and they showed the crash. The look on the other two presenters faces was one of complete shock and mines probably was as well. How the hell he not only survived after crashing at just under 300mph but travelling upside down at 230mph but is not up and fine (apart from now liking celery) is completely beyond me. May be slightly morbid but it made facinating viewing.

And, yes, I know I said this entry would be the new thing. I did write that entry, cut it to spell check it in Word, IE crashed and it disappeared from the clipboard. It will be my next entry. Hope it was worth the wait.

Will

Log in to write a note

i get freaky about showing my writing, too. but i have yet to accomplish much of substance. however, if you let me read yours, i’ll let you read mine, when i have something. you have no idea how big that is for me. i dont even share with my family or friends, much less od friends!

i get freaky about showing my writing, too. but i have yet to accomplish much of substance. however, if you let me read yours, i’ll let you read mine, when i have something. you have no idea how big that is for me. i dont even share with my family or friends, much less od friends!

Well, it will always be a work in progress, up to the point of actually being filmed. So, in some sense it doesn’t make sense. As for names, what kind of character is he? Re: Actually it seems necessairy

Well, it will always be a work in progress, up to the point of actually being filmed. So, in some sense it doesn’t make sense. As for names, what kind of character is he? Re: Actually it seems necessairy

Re: Hmmmm, how about Loki: Norse God of Hokey Pokey and one of the world’s major Trickster Gods. In his early days Loki was a rascal; crafty, sneaky, silly and malicious. The son of two Giants, he was so outrageously mischievous that he even sneaked his way into becoming a God. He was the first Anti-Hero, quick-witting his way out of the tight corners and confrontations caused by his misdeeds.

Re: Hmmmm, how about Loki: Norse God of Hokey Pokey and one of the world’s major Trickster Gods. In his early days Loki was a rascal; crafty, sneaky, silly and malicious. The son of two Giants, he was so outrageously mischievous that he even sneaked his way into becoming a God. He was the first Anti-Hero, quick-witting his way out of the tight corners and confrontations caused by his misdeeds.