We’re having the cheery conversation!

The jobcentre has sent me on a course.

I had a choice between a call centre course and a hospitality course.  I have plenty of call centre experience, so I chose the hospitality one.

One of the folk in the part of the college I am in for this is someone I was at college years ago.  He’s also inspired me to see if I can do a TV and film production course to get back into that and catch up with how the industry has moved on (last time I did a course, HD was just coming in and we filmed on Mini DV.)

There is an unexpected bonus.  Three of the people on the course were told that they would be getting a food hygiene certificate.  We weren’t, but we are now.

Apart from that, not much is happening in my life.

Mum’s not happy.  It’s her and dads wedding anniversary this week.  Because of the lockdown, all the pubs and restaurants are closed in Aberdeen and they can’t get reservations outside Aberdeen either.

I’m getting back into cross stitch.

My swim on Saturday was slightly frustrating because of people messing about.  On Sunday, most of the pool was closed off for swimming classes so I could only do breadths.  But I didn’t do too badly.  I’m going tomorrow after class.

And I had to get myself a new halogen oven as the timer on my one decided not to work properly.  The new one is digital, so less chance of that happening.

Will

Log in to write a note
August 17, 2020

The thing about things with digital is once one thing goes often a lot of other things go….Just my experiences.

I have a food safe course and it’s very well worth it to take it…i got a great education out of it and used it here at home, I drove everyone crazy with what I knew.

Hope you like these courses.

August 18, 2020

I had to take a food safety course when I was a day care director. Not only did I have to supervise the cook, sometimes I had to BE the cook.

I’ve worked in call centers, too. I enjoyed it when I was doing market research, but hated being a telemarketer. But the worst job I ever had was as an alarm company disparcher. How I lasted a whole year there, I’ll never know. Just horrid.

August 18, 2020

You are doing as well as possible under the circumstances. Hang in there!