You can’t choose your family. Unfortunately

I wasn’t planning to write again until after I’d watched this weeks Game of Thrones.  But, having just spoken to my mum, I have to rant about my brother, my sister in law and just how fucking furious I am at them.

Now, what you need to know is that my brother has always been my mums favourite.  I’ve always known this.  My brother is mums blue eyed boy, my sister is daddy’s little princess.

Nut sometimes, they way my brother and his wife treats mum royally pisses me off.

So I talked a couple of entries ago about meeting mum and dad in Newcastle.  The reason they were down was to visit my brother, sister in law and the kids, who live in Gateshead, right next to Newcastle.  They deliberately chose to come down for Easter because the kids were on holiday from school and it’d mean getting more time with them.  They saw the kids after leaving me on the Thursday, on the Friday, not on Saturday because the kids were at a barbecue, then on Easter Sunday.  The kids were taking part in an Easter egg hunt in the street where their other grandmother lives on the Monday and mum and dad were invited to watch.

My brother phoned on the Monday to say that they weren’t invited after all.  Seemingly, mum and dad actually invited themselves and therefore they weren’t welcome.  They went round to see the kids on Monday evening, because they were going back up the road on the Tuesday, but they actually spent less time with the kids than they normally do going down during term time.

Brother and sister in law have form for this.  The reason that mum and dad have a caravan to take down to see them is because of this.  They were going to go down to spend New Year in Gateshead one time.  This made me happy, not least because I was going to get driven to Newcastle, saving me money on my rail trip.  The day before we were supposed to leave, brother phoned to say that sister in law had decided the dog couldn’t stay in the house.  It was too late to arrange kennels, so the whole thing was cancelled.

Dad has decided, and told brother and sister in law, that mum and dad are no longer taking the caravan down.  Meaning that they can’t go down until the dog dies, because she’s too old to be put into a kennel.  sister in law does not like Aberdeen.  Hence, brother and sister in law rarely go up with the kids.  Brother has said he might possibly take the kids up himself, but it would likely be once a year at best (he’s already said it’s not likely to be this year).

It fucking sucks.  They way brother and sister in law treats mum and dad is heartbreaking to me.  Up until now, mum has been happy to put all the blame on sister in law (because it could never be brothers fault), but she’s beginning to realise that brother is also at fault.  For no other reason than he lets mum and dad be treated like this, rather than putting his foot down.

Mum thinks it’s a bit catty for her to remind brother that the kids have two other grandparents.  Possibly, but it desperately needs to be said.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Will

Log in to write a note
April 29, 2019

I think it’s time for a family meeting so you can say all of this.    I would also be telling your brother that he is an idiot and he should be treating his parents a lot better…If it were not for his parents he wouldn’t be here and you would be the favorite.

May 1, 2019

that is terribly rude of them. it is nice when people realize finally that they are being treated badly though; you wait so long for them to GET IT and then they finally do. as sad as it is that they are dealing with it, it’s nice to get that justification for your feelings.