she’s going home

I found out that my daughter and her aunt are planning on driving back to pack up her belongings so she could move to Oklahoma.  My daughter didn’t tell me.  My sister-in-law didn’t tell me.  My husband heard it from his brother while talking to him today.  You would think my daughter would take the time to tell me herself.  But no, not going to happen.  Am I disappointed?  Yes.  But not enough to be dramatic.  Just enough to make internal whimpering noises.  It will be interesting to see how long before she bothers to tell me.  I’m sort of at this point in my life where I’m not interested in being the only one who makes contact.  I’m doing the once a month plan with my adult children.  I think that’s enough.  Maybe it’s too much–I’m not sure yet.  I’m not high maintenance when it comes to relationships.  My days of trying to put in a lot of effort are done.

Log in to write a note
January 20, 2022

I don’t know the full story so I guess me commenting may just be totally left field or something but…..my oldest sister calls my dad everyday at least like twice.  I don’t know so much about my other sister. But me I call my dad at least once a week. I do wish he called me often too, sometimes he does.

My biological  mother I call once a week or every 2 weeks and she will call me when she feels like she hasn’t heard from me for awhile.

Basically I think it should just depend kn you and how you feel. You want to talk to your kids everyday then so be it or once a week or month do what suits you and not what suits them or everyone else.