Living in Mexico

We are living in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, these days. We arrived 6 months ago on a tourist visa and we are now in the process of getting a 4 year temporary visa. We had to drive to Laredo, Texas to go to the Mexican Consulate there, a 9 hour trip. Everything went without a hitch so far, having to show foreign income from my job for a US company so I can support myself and my wife. Now we need to deal with the local immigration office in San Miguel to finalize the visa, and with the office at the airport in Queretaro for the permit for our US-registered car.

I don’t see myself living here for good but living here a few years is not bad. I can’t say I love the food, there is always some seasoning that is off for my taste buds. I guess I just have to get used to it.

I have not learned Spanish yet, that will come next.

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2019

OMG please be super careful – Guanajuato is one of the states with the most cartel casualties right now (because none of the 4 cartels there have gained control of the entire state, which is the goal). Stay safe.