Freak Out

Hi, this is my first ever entry.

I had a little freak out today. My mother is planning on moving back with my step-father for what seems to be around the 11th time. Because we are minors, my brother and I must go with her. I feel like my heart is further shattering in a billion sharp pieces. It’s hard to believe that even after telling her about the times he would hit, and scream at, and punish my brother, step-brother and I every day while she was at work, she still decides to stay with him. Even though the last time he hit me was 5 years ago, he constantly berated me and made me feel useless. There was even a more recent incident (maybe around 7 months ago? I’m not so sure.) where he smashed a remote onto my step-brothers head. I can’t help but feel that she does not love my brothers and I as much as she loves my step-father. Sometimes I think of ending it all, but I have to be there for my brother. She says she wants to see him suffer with her own eyes, but I feel as if that’s just a shitty excuse to shift the guilt away from her. I don’t know what to do anymore. Maybe after a few more times I’ll get used to it.

Log in to write a note
March 28, 2020

You do not have to take abuse! If you’re in the States, call DFACS or the police should he hit anyone again. Also, many states allow minors over the age of 14 to choose which custodial parent they choose to live with if you father is around and able.

March 28, 2020

@solovoice While I am over the age of 14, my father is already having trouble financially, and I don’t want things to be harder for him. I love him very much, and when he’s able to support himself better, I will gladly move in with him. Thanks for the advice.

March 28, 2020

@a-m-t – I have to agree with @solovoice. The one thing I can add, is that you can also look into emancipation – different states allow this at different ages. If yours allows you, you can be emancipated, go live with your dad while helping out financially, AND petition for your siblings’ custody. Either way you should tell CPS and the cops.  Also, I’m fairly confident that your dad would prefer having you with him and THEN figure out how to better his situation, than to have you abused by anyone. You are NEVER a burden for him.