#TOTW80

What’s something you’ve moved on from that once meant the world to you?

One of my best friends.

Don’t know if he loved me as much as I loved him.

I would have done anything for that person.

I threw a kid in the ditch, when we were in middle school, when this kid called my friend a “faggot”.  (He didn’t know I did that…I didn’t want it to hurt him).

I stood up against my abusive step father for the first time because of him.

I was his “ride or die” girl.  I would have done anything and everything for him.

We were so similar in many ways and we mirrored each other in certain ways…except, I considered him the better half of my reflection.

He has always meant the world to me.  That will never change.  I just live differently, now.  I have gone on to marry someone else and have a family with that person.  I don’t like the situation with my husband always upset, but I do love him.  Wish it wasn’t so complicated…

Sometimes, I’ll look back, and think and wish how things could have been different.  But if it were, I would have never had my beautiful children.  I love my children.  They are my world, now.

My old friend is married now, like me, with a beautiful family.  He seems happy and I am so happy for him.

We’ve moved on and it’s over.  He will always have a special place in my heart…and I don’t want to get in the way of  his happiness.

Sometimes you love someone so much, you just have to let them go.

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2020

That was beautifully said. 

July 24, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 thank you 💖

July 12, 2020

I love your entry and you are so right, sometimes when you really love someone, you have to let them go.  🌸

July 24, 2020

@wildrose_2 absolutely… it’s painful , yet necessary.

July 14, 2020

Yes.  And good for you.  💝

July 24, 2020

@oniongirl  💖

July 17, 2020

Beautiful entry and I can relate all too well. Certain people never leave your heart.

July 24, 2020

@socialphobic yes…certain people NEVER leave.  I’ve tried and found it impossible.  💖

July 18, 2020

Your kids are like the point of no true regret… but there’s no harm in contemplating a life that took a different turn. Though the history won’t be there, find some happiness in the thought there would be other good men like him out there who would have room for you.

July 24, 2020

@messupit I actually fantasize a lot with what “could have” been.  I often wonder what would have happened if I took a different turn.  I know my friend would have made me the happiest person in the world…

…I am glad, though, that he is doing it for someone else. 💖