What-ev-er…

I have this song stuck in my head this morning. And I keep thinking of the Breakfast Club… here is a Zoomer’s review of the movie which I guess is typical of a Gen Zer, but for us Gen Xer’s who lived their teenaged life in the 80’s, it’s different. Yes, it’s true, things have changed but it still is a much loved film despite it’s flaws.

I remember those days. I can safely say that I am wrong. The worst generation is not the Millennials, but the Zoomers. Seriously!!

Ugh.

Taking apart a piece of 80’s culture and applying it to today’s standards? Non!

Sammy

Log in to write a note
March 3, 2024

I like the song and I love the Breakfast Club.  I’m a baby boomer but some things never change when it comes to high school.

March 3, 2024

@wildrose_2 Highschool for me was weird, I was more of a nerd, and I liked shop class. I had these two guys have crushes on me… I had crushes too… Giuseppe and Laird and Neil.. oy…

March 3, 2024

The new generations seriously need to get over themselves.

March 3, 2024

@ostara Right? OMG. >_>

March 3, 2024

I just realize I sound like a Valley Girl in the subject line. Ha!

March 4, 2024

i was there in the 80’s and it seems to me that they watered down all the characters in the film… still it was pretty funny to watch… sound track was a little candy, but not bad…

March 4, 2024

@kermitallica Does it still seem watered down? I thought the movie was really cool. The soundtrack was great. All 80’s tunes for the most part.

March 5, 2024

@appleblossomgirl the divide between the social casts was far worse than the film showed… we each had our place and did not stray from it… it was a very “intense” time…
i personally didnt care much the music of the 80’s at the time…
more of a 70’s kinda guy, but most of the bands i listened to furthered their careers in the 80’s…

March 5, 2024

@kermitallica Yeah, I guess so. do you like Black Sabbath? Or Lynnyrd Skynnyrd? (sic)

March 5, 2024

@appleblossomgirl sabbath and skynnyrd are alright…
my main interests are the moody blues… queen… rush and others that do not follow the beaten path… and you?

March 5, 2024

@kermitallica My foster brother Andy was the drummer for Rush before Peart I believe. And the Moody Blues are good too. Queen, I ABSOLUTELY love. I was devastated when Freddie died. 🙁 This song (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4Mc-NYPHaQ) is my favorite. That and Radio Gaga. 🙂

March 6, 2024

@appleblossomgirl thats amazing about your brother. he did a fantastic job on their first album. i want to break free was a ground breaker, too bad it caused so much grief in america. my song from queen is ’39 and tao torriote (i think i spelled that wrong). my father introduced me to the Moodys back in 1973 and i’ve been a fan since then… most of the titles to my entrys are song titles…

March 6, 2024

@kermitallica Not Andy, John. Sorry, wrong brother lol… I was born in 1974 so.. wow! Cool.

March 7, 2024

@appleblossomgirl i am a bit of an old fossil…