Going Home Alone

A poem that I just wrote.

Going Home Alone
 
Driving down the highway,
Windows down,
Hair blowing in my face,
My cheeks cold with tears.
I turn on the heat,
So I can feel your embrace.
The warmth is overwhelming,
Your hug isn’t nice anymore.
My shoulders are burning,
I think I’m on fire.
My blood is boiling,
The butterflies in my stomach
Are turning to ashes.
My mouth tastes of lies,
And it feels just like chalk.
I try to wet my lips,
But they crack with my efforts.
I don’t need them anyway,
You’ve used them enough.
Stopping the car,
There is a red light,
I turn on the radio,
So I can talk to someone
Other than myself.
I start screaming.
The radio doesn’t stop me,
You aren’t here to stop me,
Even this red light will not stop me.
Nothing can ever stop me again!!
Laughing in my newfound freedom,
My foot grows heavier by the second,
It has become a block of lead.
Faster and faster and faster I go,
Just like our love,
My speed continues to grow.
Flying in this wonderful oblivion,
I close my eyes up tight.
And holding you in my arms,
I crash, I wreck, you die.
 
-Kara-

Log in to write a note
April 15, 2012

You’re an amazing poet. But you’re so full of anger and depression it’s no bueno. D:

May 1, 2012

Excellent, of course. But I dare you to write a cheerful one 😛 Just realised you have Royksopp in your interests, win. RYN: Residential home for adults with learning disabilities. I’ve worked there for two years now, it’s nice, for the most part 🙂