Friday 4/26/24

11:15a.m. The aides finially got me dressed and in my wheelchair by 11:00. Other than that I’m having a good day. I slept soundly last might with no weird dreams. I was up for good by 7:00. I think a good night’at so s sleep put me in a great mood. 

I was just talking to someone from the nursing home. She asked how my care was last night. I said good. She asked if I felt safe. I said yes. She asked if I had any other concerns. I said like a remote for the tv. I also mentioned the gift card. I said Walmart doesn’t sell Amazon gift cards. They sell them at Krogers or Dollar General. This was the extent of our talk.  

I also talked with Chocolatechip. She was in good spirits today. She said she was moving furniture. She also talked about CMP. The new therapist would like to take her off some meds. Chocolatechip said she feel they are helping her. She does feel calmer and is making an attempt to socialize. But she is on a lot of meds.  

I said I was in a good mood. I complained a little bit about being in bed all morning. I said I didn’t eat breakfast or drink coffee. I frank orange juice and that made me a bit bloated. I was afraid to eat for fear of getting sick. Other than that I’m doing ok today. 

I seem to have a lot of GI problems. Chocolatechip said I should tell my nurse. I said they probably already know. Getting bloated after almost every meal is not normal she said.  Neither is having very painful bm. She strongly suggested I tell my nurse. I will think about it. 

1:04p.m. I had two bowls of chicken pot pie for lunch. They came with a lot of gravy. Gravy doesn’t always agree with me. I shouldn’t of eaten all of it because I’m bloated now. I’m experiencing slight discomfort in my belly. Pain level is a 2 on a 1-10 scale. I’m ok other than that.  

I also talked with Chocolatechip before lunch. She talked about making a roast Saturday. I said your roasts always come put great in the crock pot. She also talked about going to Krogers Monday morning. She wants to pick up a few groceries and that $25 , Amazon gift card. Again I thanked her I already have a book picked out An Unfinished Love Story: A Personal History of the 1960s by Doris Kearns Goodwin and Bryan Cranston.   

I was talking about Here, Right Matters by Alexander S Vindman. I said I’m almost finished with it. I went on about how the author witnessed the July 25 call to President Zelensky of the Ukraine. That call  amounted to an impeachable offense. The author would eventually testify against it Trump during the impeachment hearing. I also said I I have four more chapters to go. 

Chocolatechip asked what’s up next. I said I think I’ll read a book about the Civil War. I have a book called Chancellorsville by Stephen W Sears. This is about the famous battle fought in Virginia in May of 1863. I read this a long time ago and it was an interesting book. Then our conversation was interrupted when they served lunch. 

3:20p.m. I’ve been reading Here, Right Matters. I finished a chapter already. I have three more to go. I think I can finish this book today. I’m anxious to get started on Chancellorsville by Stephen W Sears.  Im having a good day. I’m not obsessing or anxious about anything. I t am just sitting in my wheelchair enjoying my books. Life is good.   

6:20p.m. I was having a good time reading Here, Right Matters. I read two chapters this afternoon. Then I had an accident.  It started to hurt down below. I always need help close to mealtime. The aides can’t help me because they are dealing with trays. I will be stuck in my wheelchair for at least a couple of hours. 

One thing I had a delicious supper. They served a bowl of chili. fried potatoes, broccoli and vanilla ice cream. I ate it all. I didn’t get too bloated this time. Pain level is a 3 on a 1-10 scale. I talked with  Chocolatechip after I ate. We talked for about 15 minutes Then she went to bed.  

I hope to finish my book Here, Right Matters by Alexander S Vindman. I hope to finish that book tonight. 

7:43p.m. I’m getting mad. I’ve been trying to get put in bed and changed since before supper. I’ve been sitting in urine four hours. I haven’t been changed since they got me up at 11:00a.m. This is par in this nursing home.   

8:43p.m. I’m finially in bed and changed. I had a talk with the nurse. By the way this nurse was extremely nice to me..She told me the aide was giving someone a shower and I would bel next The aide who did take care of me wasn’t very friendly at all. But she did her job and that what counts. 

I am almost finished with Here, Right Matters. I have about thirty more pages. I don’t think I’ll be able to finish it tonight though. Oh well tomorrow is another day. 

10:07p.m. I just finished Here, Right Matters by Alexander S Vindman. I gave it a five star rating. I give all my books s five star rating. But I am very impressed with Colonel Vindman’s story. He sacrificed his career in the military when he testified m against Trump. In so doing Lieutenant Colonel Vindman showed true courage. That’s why I gave this book a five star rating. This makes the 15th book I’ve read this year. I’m halfway to my goal of 30 books. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note