Thursday 4/25/24

9:45a.m. Breakfast was a lousy French toast casserole with pineapple topping. It went right through me.  I wish they would just fix an ordinary French toast with butter and syrup. Then I couldn’t drink the coffee because it was so cold. So my day is starting off just great.  

I’m dressed and in  my wheelchair. The aides got me up just in time to miss the coffee social.grr! These little irritants all add up to make me a cranky old man. I swear I hate this place more with each passing day. But I’m not starting off my day bitching about the nursing home. 

 I’m going to do my best to keep a positive attitude.Bitching and complaining all the time doesn’t solve the problem. I spoke up to the state about this place. It is between the state and the nursing home. Bitching all the time only makes me sick. So it is best to keep it positive.    

One good thing was I did a lot of reading last night. I read two chapters in Here, Right Matters by Alexander S Vindman. For really inspiring story I recommend this book. I was reading about Vindman’s tour of duty in Iraq . He was in the Second battle of Fallujah. He saw some serious action when his convoy was hit by an IED. I thought he was very,very brave for serving his country. 

Well, I talked with the administrator and the social worker two days ago. I still don’t have a $50 Amazon gift card. The care hasn’t gotten any better.  I’m still in the same shitty nursing home. But keep it positive! I’m learning that from my book Here, Right Matters.   

12:08p.m. I’m feeling very depressed. I called the Social Worker abou the $50 that is due to me. She said the SS check hasn’t come in. Bullshit! I wanted to say. She then said she will talk with the business office. I asked her to come see me. I want to know what is going on with my money. I’ll no doubt get another fucking story. This is why I’m depressed.

I’ve been ruminating over this despite my best efforts to stay positive. If the nursing home didn’t get their money they would be after me like flies on a pile of shit. That’s why I don’t believe their story about not getting my Social Security check. Also,  now that I have that debt paid off why are they having problems with it all of a sudden?

It served no useful purpose to dwell on this subject. I’m only making myself sick. I don’t know why I’m wasting my time. It just bothers the hell out of me because I can’t help but think they are serving screwing with me. I do not think I’m too far off in my thinking.

I just got my lunch. I think I’ll pass. They served two tuna salad sandwiches and potato salad. Im just too upset to eat.

Me with Chocolatechip on a happier day.    

2:28p.m. I’m feeling better. I ate my lunch. It was ok. After lunch the aide came to make my bed. She also put me in bed and changed my briefs. Then I talked with Chocolatechip. She had a therapy session at CMP. They were worried that she is on so many meds. But Chocolatechip feels they are helping her. She does seem to be more stable. Also, she is socializing more and that is a good thing. 

I was talking to her about my talk with the social worker. Chocolatechip said I can’t get that out of my head. She is right. I said I just want what is rightfully mine nothing more nothing less. Then she said she will buy a $25 Amazon gift card for me. Chocolatechip said she has more than enough to get to the first. I thanked her and said I already have a history want to buy.  

We talked about different things. Chocolatechip likes Walmart.com. She said that site has everything. I said I love Amazon. I bought a lot of things through Amazon and never had a problem. She said she heard good and bad things about Amazon. I was talking to a lady from physical therapy. She had nothing good to say about Amazon. Then Chocolatechip wanted to check her mail. That was the end of our talk.

3:21p.m. I finially got an answer about the gift card!  Activities department is going shopping on May 15. They will stopm at Krogers to get one for me. Social worker was just in and she just told me the news. I’m a happy camper today because I finally got a straight answer to my question!    

8:36p.m. I’m having a good evening. First, I had spaghetti for supper. It was pretty good. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She was doing good as well. Then I began reading. I read two chapters in Here, Right Matters by Alexander S Vindman. I’m on a roll tonight so I will try and read one more chapter.  

I feel a lot better now that I know I’m getting that gift card. Not knowing was preying on my mind all the time. Now I feel like a 16 ton weight has been lifted from my shoulder. Life is good.  

Already i picked out the books I want. These are: 

  1. You Like it Darker by Stephen King $14.99
  2. Camino Ghosts by John Grisham. $14.99
  3. A Calamity of Souls by David Baldacci $14.99
  4. An Unfinished Love Story by Doris Kearns Goodwin $15.99
  5. Active Liberty: Interpreting our Constitution by Stephen Breyer $12.99

Total cost $73.95. I should be able to afford this with Chocolatechip’s $25 gift card.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

St

 

E

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
1 week ago

Stay the course Bear. ♥

1 week ago

@cemeterydawn  Thanks Sammy fine now

1 week ago

@bear70 Good 😀

1 week ago

Such a nice photo. Treasure those days!

1 week ago

@ravdiablo  Thanks  Rav i do cherrish the times we are together

1 week ago

Glad you finally got an answer to the gift card.

1 week ago

@scarlet_dragon  Thank you It sure took them long enogh