Monday 9/12/22

7:57am I had to a lousy night. The aides put me to bed around 11:30. I had pain in my left foot that kept me up most of the night. Then I didn’t sleep very well becasecof weird dreams about my neice Karen and daughter Allison.

In his one dream I was walking the streets on f Weirton. I picked up a few items such as coffee and ua couple cans of pop at the downtowon  Kroger’s. The next thing I knew about I meet up with my niece Karen. We end up in this church.

The church was full of people. The preacher was giving his sermon.  There was a sink against one of the walls. A man, fully clothed,was in the sink taking a bath. There was a coffee pot next to the sink?h I desperately wanted coffee but my grocery items were confused. So I went to the pulpit to demand my purchases.

Somehow, Karen and I were back on Main Street in Weirton. We were walking along and ran into Allison, my daughter. Allison was dressed funny. She was speaking to Karen but would not speak to me. The three of us continued to walk down the streey. Then I started talking to Karen.

It was a long and very involved dream. I was going on to Karen about how I need to take responsibility for my life. In short I needed to man up. Then we came across a group of punks. They were making rude, sexual comments to my daughter and niece.  I got into a fight with one of them because he was disrespecting my daughter.

 I think I woke up at this point. Aides came in to change me and get me out of bed. This was around 5:30. I was still very tired and sore all over. I also had a terrific headache. I tried sleeping in my wheelchair but couldn’t. I was one miserable old fart until I got a cup of coffee.

I called Chocolatechip. She was going on about all the transportation arrangements she has to make. She talked about phoning Healthways yet again to cancel for today.We talked very briefly because breakfast and more coffee was coming.

9:22am I had French toast, scrambled eggs, three cups of coffee and juice for breakfast. Shortly after breakfast Darla came to take me to PT. I’m afraid I wimped out today. My left leg hurt like hell. sShe took me back to my room early. I was very sore and very tired.

12:53pm I talked with Chocolatechip after PT.  After that I took a nap in my wheelchair. I think I slept for about an hour or so. Then I started to read my book Battle Cry of Freedom 

 I read Chapter 16 “We Must Free the Slaves or be Ourselves Subdued.” It was an interesting chapter about how the goals of the war changed from a limited to a total war. This was a gradual transformation beginning with McClellan’ defeat in the Peninsula Campaign I thought this to be a very interesting chapter.

I took a break for lunch. I had beef lasagna, tossed salad, a dinner roll and a piece of caramel cake. I had three cups of lukewarm coffee and a glass of juice. Except for the coffee lunch was pretty good 

I talked with Chocolatechip after lunch. She seemed a bit down but wouldn’t elaborate. She did one load of laundry plus her usual morning routine. Chocolatechip talked about her lunch from Meals on Wheel. She wasn’t too crazy about it. Then she complained about her stomach and back bothering her. I said I hope you feel better. Our phone conversation was very brief because she had to take meds.

I’m in a good mood today. I’m proud of myself because I did not sleep all morning. I also achieved my reading goal of one chapter a day I still feel pretty alert so I plan on going back to my book. I hope to read Chapter 17 “Carry Me Back to Old Virginny.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 12, 2022

Your posts always make me so hungry.