Saturday 1/28/23

5:35a.m. I’m above the dirt and blessed with another day. I got to bed around eleven. Aides got me up and dressed by five. In between I had a good night. I feel good this morning not troubled by any strange dreams. It is going to stay that way. I am choosing to have another good one.

 I do feel pretty good I guess I got sick and tired of being miserable. I guess also that CBT, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, works after all. I’m in the same situation. I realized that I can’t change the situation. But I can hamge my thinking about the situation. I changed my thoughts from being very negative to oh well it’s time to move on. I found myself not being as depressed and miserable.

I’m proud of myself. I experienced a bitter blow. I worked through it using methods I learned through therapy.  I did it pretty much on my own. Now I feel stronger after going through the process. I will do better than survive. I will thrive.

I added one more book to my list. Democratic Justice : Felix Frankfurter, the Supreme Court, and the Making of the Liberal Establishment by Brad Snyder for $33.48. 

9:35a.m. I had a coffee cake, scrambled eggs and hot oatmeal cereal for breakfast. Also had two coffees and a glass of oj. Breakkfast put me in a better mood today. They must of put some happy powder in my coffee because I feal great. Then I called Chocolatechip. We had a nice conversation and talked for a long time. I’m glad we are at least talking now .

I’m kind of excited about the approaching SS day on Feb 3. This is when I will pay my rent and buy those eight books. I love buying books as much as I do reading them. Just six more days to go and I’ll be in seventh heaven. Life is good.

I justcgot my menu for today.i having baked ham, green beans, sweet potato casserole,a dinner roll and scalloped apples for desert. For dinner I’m having a Philly Cheese steak sandwich , tater tots. and a cherry chocolate brownie.

12:43p.m. I read two articles in the New York Times this morning. They were about the beating death of Tyle Nicholas in Memphis. What is unusual about this case is that all five officers involved were Black. They have all been charge with kidnapping and murder. I was well on my way to reading a third article when I fell asleep.

I slept until lunch. I had roasted pork instead of ham. It was pretty good anyway I also had two cups of coffee.

My mood is still upbeat. I’m having a good day with no arthritis pain. I hope to do a lot of reading today both on my paper and book.

8:30p.m. I was talking to Chocolatechip shortly before supper. In the course of our conversation she said that she has a secret crush on someone else. I asked who and she declined to say . Needless to say this really hurt. I think I’m finially at the point where I don’t want to talk to her anymore. It just ends up with me getting hurt.

I’m kind of proud of myself. At that point I had a choice to make. I cold have gotten very upset and depressed. I could of just sat in my wheelchair and brooded all night. Instead I picked d up my tablet and read a good bit of Chapter 5 in my book From Colony to Super Power by George C Herring. Consequently my mood is still fairly upbeat. I choose not to let this latest news hurt me.  

I am taking a break from reading. I just had a nightly snack of pbj sandwich. I’m getting a bit sleepy but would like to stay up and finish my Chapter. 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note