Saturday 4/2/22

8:03am I had a very bad night. First, I didn’t get put in bed until 11:30. This was not entirely the fault of my aid. I was asked when I would like to go to bed around suppertime. I said around eleven because I’d like to stay up and read. Aids put put me to bed a good half hour later so I guess I can’t complained in. Again, this was the nice aid who likes me. Was very apologetic saying she had a very busy night. Once again I said that’s ok I got cought up in my book and lost track of time.

Second, I couldn’t sleep once in bed. I started to have incontinence episodes. I peed myself several times. Third, I was not given a blanket. They left the air on and cold air was blowing on me half the night. I did eventually I get a blanket from annd they did turn off the air but this was around two or three. I froze my but off half the night. Finally, despite ringing the call light I was not charged until they got me out of bed this morning. I was laying in pee all night long.

I was pretty upset when they got me out of bed. I didn’t say a word though. I was so happy to get help I was no longer mad. Despite not sleeping I had a pretty good morning after they gave me a nice sponge bath. I was in my wheelchair by five today.  I was wide awake and stayed up until breakfast. I had a coffee cake, scrambled eggs and hot cereal. For drinks I had a glass of chocolate milk and two cups of coffee

My transaction yesterday with Capitol One went through. I do not have to set up a three way telephones conversation with my bank, Capitol One and myself. I was so happy. Right away I purchased all the books I’ve been wanting to read. Fourteen books in all including an audiobook on the Vietnam War by Stanley Karnow. I ycaannotj describe the feeling I got when buying these books. Let’s just say I was dancing in my wheelchair this morning. Don’t worry,vi still have enough money to pay my rent on Monday.

My roommate is leaving this morning. They were packing up his stuff during breakfast. I’m going to be sad to see him go. He seemed like a nice old guy bueno was very quiet. While the aids were packing up his things I asked if I could have his TV. She said I don’t see why not but will have to ask maintenance. So I might be getting a TV on my side of the room.

I talked with Chocolatechip on the phone. She had a good night. She slept ok and no oudy knocked on her door. She was a bit grouchy this morning.nshevwas important atient with me when I asked her to repeat herself. I could hardly hear her but she was talking about what her caregiver said to another client. Good or bad caregivers are not supposed to spread tales about their clients. I said this is unethical. Chocolatechip said she wasn’t going to do anything about this because the caregiver is a good worker.

I feel pretty good this morning I was taken bcare of by nice aids. I whad a pretty good breakfast. I didn’t have problems with Capitol One. I was able to buy all the books I wanted this month. No arthritis pain after I got in my wheelchair Just about everything worked in my favor. And I might get a TV. Life is pretty good.

8:37pm My day didnt turn out so well. I didn’t have much of a lunch. I had chicken and dumplings with carrots and cookies for deserts. For drinks I had two cups of coffee and a glass of fruit punch. Chicken and dumplings didn’t have gravy so I didn’t have any ill effects. But lunch didn’t cheer me up. I felt very. Very tired afterwards.

I’m afraid I slept on and off in my wheelchair most of the day. I  I started to read The Difinitive FDR Vol One The Fox and the Lion, 1882-1940 by James MacGregor Burns. I read about how Roosevelt launched his New Deal measures during the so called Hundred Days?Read about his first term in office. Very interesting stuff. I read two chapters despite being dead to the world.

I wanted to buy more books. I bought three more book, one by one of my favorite historians Stephen Ambrose Crazy Horse and Custer. I also bought two books by Frank Snepp Decent Interval and Irreparable Harm. Snepp was a CIA analyst stationed in Saigon. His first book is an account of the time between the Paris Peace Accords in 1972 and the fall of Saigon in 1975. This makes seventeen books in all.

I had a bad accident before supper. Aids were taking care of dinner trays. They didn’t have time to change me. Besides. Mr Asshole was working today. I don’t want him coming near me. But he was delivering trays during meal times. I thought he gave me a dirty y look. I won’t be getting changed until they put me to bed.

Right now I’m listening to an audiobook Vietnam,:A History by Stanley Karnow. This is yey another account of the Vietnam War. I am starting to love these audiobooks. But I have two problems I can’t hear very well so I miss a lot of the narration. Still I’m able to pick up a few things and it is relaxing to sit back and listen to the written word. I will try to listen to this book before going to bed. I hope it will help me wind down.

It is 9:30 pm been in this wheelchair since bat least five. That’s over sixteen hours.i have been sitting in poop and urine since before supper. I’m not too happy right now. I hope I get to bed at a decent hour but it looks like I’ll be up half the night.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2022

So glad everything went well when it comes to Capital One and your book purchase.  I know how happy buying books makes you and it’s completely understandable.  Why not spend money on buying books if that’s what you choose to do?  You always make sure your rent is covered so buying books hasn’t been a problem.  I’m happy that you have lots of books to choose from when it comes to reading.  I’m glad that you live where it’s safe and most of the time you are well taken care of.  I know there are times when you aren’t and that’s just not right but you spoke up about it and changes were made which is a very good thing.

April 2, 2022

How exciting to get that many new books.  That would make me very happy too.  How will you ever choose what to read first??