Saturday 7/2/22

5:25am I’m up and sitting in my wheelchair. I had a very nice aide who helped me get dressed and into my wheelchair. I had a fairly good night with minimum pain. I’m still not fully awake though.I won’t be until I have my morning coffee and breakfast. That will not be for at least two more hours grr! But I’m grateful that I’m above the dirt.

I had a so so day yesterday. It was SS day. I made a credit card payment for $860. I bought the narrative version of the Oxford History of the United States plus they narrative version of Sparring Partners by John Grisham. I can listen and read these books at the same time. This was a good thing and I was happy to get these book.But I had trouble downloading the narrative part of Sparring Partners. I messed with this all afternoon feeling like a moron.

Sparring Partners is a collection of three novellas- Homecoming, Strawberry Moon and Sparring Partners. I had to start over with this book but didn’t mind. I finished  Homecoming yesterday afternoon. It is set in the fictional town of Clanton, Mississippi. Here a lawyer, Mack Stafford, steels money from some of his clients. He divorces his wife and flees the country. The story is about how he wants to come home and reunite with his two teenage girls. I thought it was a very good story and worth rereading again.

Next one is Strawberry Moon. This one is about the last hours of a condemned man. It’s sad but interesting.  He went through the appeal process and lost. Cody Wallace was fifteen when he was sent to death row. He spent fourteen years fighting his sentence. But now it is over  I started this late last night and got halfway through it before going to bed

John Grisham is one of my favorite authors. I read almost all of his books. He is known for his legal thrillers. Oh guess I like him because I am  frustrated lawyer. I wanted so much to be a lawyer when young.  I just didn’t have the brains to make I. I still like to read about the law and hear stories about lawyers. I sort of escape through Grisham novels.

Well that’s about it for now. I’m going to give Chocolatechip a call

3:54pm I finished reading Strawberry Moon. The story is about Cody Wallace’s last hours. Cody is a twenty- nine year old death row inmate. He was first sentenced to death at age fifteen with his brother Brian. They broke into a hose to steel hoping it was vacant. But the owners were home. A gun battle occurs. Brian and the owners are killed.  Cody never had a gun and never killed anyone but was charged as an adult and sentenced to death.

Like I said it was a sad but interesting story on the evils of the death penalty. The system failed Brian and Cody. They were refugees from the foster care system surviving by steeling and living in the woods. Cody never killed anyone was only fourteen but was sentenced to death. Justice was not served in this case.

I also talked with Chocolatechip. She was kind of down over an incident in the building. There is this guy named Tim. She thought they were friends. She used to let Tim use her computer? But Chocolatechip no longer lets people in her apartment because of an ongoing bed bug problem in the building. Since then Tim has been very nasty towards her. It seems he was using her and soon dropped her when he couldn’t use the computer.

I tried to cheer her up. I listened and commiserated with her on the phone and on messenger. I was saying this guy is nothing but a mooch  and a user. He is also a sick pervert who is shows no respect because he is always talking about his perverted sex life. Ii said that wasn’t much of a friendship I hoped I cheered her up some e. Chocolatechip said she felt better after doing some reading.

I had a fairly good day so far. I spent most of the day reading. I experienced very little pain. I had spaghetti and a salad for lunch with hot coffee and a fruit punch. Italian food is my favorite and I love spaghetti.  But I got very sleepy in the afternoon. I fell asleep and slept on and off as I tried to listen to my book.

9:18pm I had a fish sandwich, potatoes and peas for supper. For drinks I had a fruit punch and a cup of coffee. Talked with Chocolatechip after supper. She was doing better. Weirton was celebrating it’s 75th anniversary. Channel nine was interviewing people on Main St. Chocolatechip said they were talking to her neighbor. She was feeling better. She also talked about Elaine coming from Wheeling for a visit Elaine is supposed to come on the 9th of next week. We talked for a half hour then she had to get ready for bed.

I did a lot of reading. I started to read the novella Sparring Partners by John Grisham. This is the third and last story in the novel. It is about two brothers, Nick and Kirk Malloy who are the sole partners in Malloy & Malloy. The father, Bolton Malloy is serving a tein year sentence for murdering his wife. He was charged with manslaughter and plead guilty avoiding a more serious charge.

Most of the story centers around these three characters and their adventures in law. It is a pretty good story and I was reading it all night. Thanks to my audible app I read and listen at the same time. I had best evening. I read most of the story and will finish it tomorrow.

One of the aides brought in several books. I was really touched. They are all about crime and mysteries. She went on she likes actual books. I was saying I prefer ebooks. Since I can’t get to the library or bookstore I find it downloading books much more convenient. She is one of the better aides who takes good care of me.

Well it is almost ten. I e been in this wheelchair for 17 hrs. I’m getting sleepy .  I was asked what time I’d like to go to bed. I said ten. I hope she comes back soon and puts me to bed. I’m getting very tired.

 

 

 

 

 

I

 

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2022

I think I’d like to read Strawberry Moon.  I love getting book ideas from you.

I like the feel of holding a real book too but when I’m reading in bed at night I like to read on my phone/Kindle app.  It just depends on where I am reading.