Sunday 5/28/23

7:40a.m. I had another miserable night thanks to constant muscle spasms. The nurse gave me some Tylenol towards morning. But I still had excruciating pain in my legs. So I spent another sleepless night in the fucking nursing home. I was glad when the aides got me out of bed at 5..

I slept in my wheelchair for awhile. Then I called Chocolatechip. She was in good spirits. We talked about this movie she watched On the Waterfront staring Marlon Brando, Eva Marie Saint, Rod Steiger and Karl Malden. It was an excellent movie but Chocolatechip didn’t like it because she thought it too dark.

Then we talked about bed bugs. She did not see any this morning. She saw two yesterday. Chocolatechip thinks they were coming from across the hall when they were moving out furniture. But those little suckers can hide. Chocolatechip said the only place they can hide is in the air bed. She will tell them if she sees more.

I slept in my wheelchair until they served drinks and breakfast. I had scrambled eggs and a coffee cake plus two cups of coffee and a glass of orange juice. I didn’t eat the oatmeal. I feel much much better after my morning coffee and juice

I’m getting good care so far. I had some major problems? Nurse came in to give me my meds. She said she would get an aide. I didn’t have long to wait. He was nice. He cleaned me up and changed my briefs. This is how it should be all the time.

So I’m above the dirt and blessed with a other day.cim determined to have a good one. The key to this is Think Positive!  Things could be a lot worse after all. I could be livinfg in some homeless shelter or worse living on the streets. But I have a roof over my head plus three good meals a day and plenty of books to read. What more could a guy ask for?

12:38p.m. I had a fairly good morning. I just sat in my wheelchair and chilled. I also talked with Chocolatechip.  Then  I had a good lunch. They served  country fried steak, mashed potatoes with gravy, green beans, a dinner roll and vanilla ice cream. I ate most of it I’m now drinking my afternoon coffee. I also had a glass of chocolate milk.

I hope to finish my book Simply Lies by David Baldacci. I haven’t been reading because I’ve been so miserable. But I’m having a good day so far. This afternoon would be the perfect time to finish that book. 

I’m not sure what I’m going to read next. I have this one book called The Moonlight Mill Murders of Steubenville, Ohio by Susan M Guy. Then I’m interested in rereading a book called The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar  I read this one a long time ago but it is worth a second shot. 

3:52p.m I finished my book Simply Lies. I started on the new  one The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction. I read the intro and half of the first chapter. The author, Akhil Reed Amar, is very interesting but a bit over my 6head. But I like a challenge and I will finish this sucker. 

I think I read about ten or eleven books so far. My goal for the year is twenty. I read almost every day so I should be able to reach it.

6:32p.m. I had a ham and cheese sub plus grapes for supper. I couldn’t eat anything else because I was getting bloated. I had a glass of chocolate milk and a cup of cold coffee. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. We talked about forty minute then she went to bed.

I hope I can stay up and read my book about the Bill of Rights. I want to at least finish the first chapter. I’m going to read that sucker if it kills me. 

9:14p.m. I’m proud of myself because I read the first two chapters in my book The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. I’m getting a bit sleepy but I think I’m will stay up and read the knext chapter. I’m finding this book to be very interesting. I’m getting sleepy but I want tostay up for at least one more hour.

This was a very good day. I finished one book and started a second. So I got lost in reading. Any Day I can get lost in books is a good day. Onek thing about being in a nursing home is I can sit on my lazy butt and read all day. This is what I do except when I. Not feeling well or not getting care. Deep down, I think all I ever wanted to do was read books all day.

It was good in other respects. I received good care. I talked with Chocolatechip a lot and she was in good spirits. I had three good meals. I was in mini um pain. Like I said I did a lot of reading. It can’t  get any bette Life is good.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note