Sunday 6/26/22

9:34am Well, I’m above the dirt. I had yet another night of nightmares, arthritis pain and incontinence. Pain level was a five on my one to five scale. I had great care. Aides put me to bed at 10:30 last night. They came to check on my two, three times to change me. Best part of the deal was they let me sleep until six. I was up aond in my wheelchair by 5:45.

I was not too sleepy this morning. I wasn’t bright eyed and bushy tailed but neither was I dead to the world. First thing I did was call Chocolatechip. I left a message. Oh shit I thought. She is pissed at me big time. I was a bit upset because I thought she was ready for a breakup. I sat in my chair trying not to brood over this. I wasn’t too successful until I called again shortly before breakfast.

I am happy to say we are ok. I explained to her that nightmares and arthritis pain have been keeping me up. This is why I have been sleeping all day. I apologized for it. Chocolatechip accepted my apology. She said she was down the hall the last time I called. She also said somebody knocked on her door very loudly around six. We talked about it and she has a good idea who it is- Keith

Breakfast came and it was ok. I’m not sure what I had. I had hot oatmeal cereal with it. The coffee was good and hot That and then I topped everything off with orange juice. I must of been hungry because I ate it all.

My only complaint this morning is I’m freezing. It is very hot outside and they have the air own. All I. Wearing is a skimpy hospital gown. Cold air is blowing on me. I’m sitting over by the sink trying to get away from the a/c. Grr. Other than that things are going good.

8:32pm I had a good day for a change. I am back on day turn. I  managed to do a lot of reading. I read in my new John Grisham novel, Sparring Partners. i I managed to stay awake most of the afternoon and evening reading. I stopped for lunch and supper.

Food was excellent today. I had roast turkey with white gravy, oven roasted potatoes, carrots, a dinner roll, and grapes for lunch. The coffee was nice and hot plus I had two fruit punches. For dinner it was a Philly steak sandwich, potatoes wedges and ambrosia for desert. I had one cup of hot coffee and a glass of lemonade. I’m a well fed and contented nursing home resident.

I cannot complain about the care today either. The aides were nice and on the ball. They checked on me in a timely manner. I had to ring the call light and didn’t have to wait for too long. They changed my briefs without yelling at me about not using the urinal. This was a good day all away around.

It is almost nine. I’ve been in this chair for sixteen hours. Still, I’m not ready for bed. I had such a good day I hate to see it end. Since I didn’t sleep during the day i hope I have a peaceful and pain free night.

9:30pm Four more days and I will get my Social Security check. I’ve been realizing out in the hall looking at books on Amazon. I’m excited about buying more books. I think I will purchase all nine books in the Oxford History of the United States. Plus I want to get the New York Times and other books as well. I plan on spending $180.51 on books. Fifteen books in all. What the hell, I have nothing else to spend my money on

After using both the Nook app and Kindle I much prefer the Kindle. One thing I like about the Kindle is their Kindle Unlimited. Here. You pay a monthly fee and have a wide selection of books you can borrow. I found many interesting books and I think it is worth the price of admission. Besides, I’m still mad with B&N. I really do not want anything to do with their lousy products.

I’m out in the hall with my trusty tablet. I think I will go back in ring the call light and get into bed. I’ll do this at ten. I have ten more minutes to stay in my wheelchair.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note