Tuesday 5/17/22

8:25am I was up all night. Incontinence and arthritis pain kept me up. I didn’t get any help until this morning. The nice girl came to get me out of bed. I was in my wheelchair by 5:45. I didn’t feel tired of cranky this morning so instead of sleeping I picked up my tablet and read Desperation by Stephen King. I read until breakfast . After eating breakfast I called Chocolatechip and we talked for awhile.  Then I picked up my tablet again and finished my book.

Desperation is a fictional mining town in the desert of Nevada. It’s population is around two hundred. The story starts out with Pete and Mary Jackson. They are traveling along Highway 50 described as the loneliest highway in Nevada. They stopped for gas at a small town a while back. Unknown to them a gang of boys stole their license plate. So Pete was driving his sister’s car without proper plates.

Highway 50 is patrolled by a crazy cop from Desperation. He spots the Jacksons and pulls them over. At first it is routine stop. The cop is friendly and professional. Then he discovers pot in the trunk of the car. He arrests the couple. While reading the Miranda rights he says to Pete “I’m going to kill you.” He takes them to jail in Desperation where he promptly kills Pete.

Pete isn’t the only one the cop kills. The crazy cop is not a cop at all. He is a body possessed by a being from another world. This being will take possession of a human. He took possession of  Collier Entragain and kills everyone in town except for sn old is drunken retired vet. Then he goes up an down Highway 50 picking up stray travelers.

I hope I got your interest in this book. It was a great story . I hope my writing parts of it encourages others to read it. In my humble opinion  I think it was one of King’s best efforts. I rate this a five on a scale of one to five.

I am on a Stephen King kick. I thought I was broke but I was able to buy two more books, Needful Things and The Talisman co authored by Peter Straub. I read the first one a long time ago and it scared the poop out of me. It is worth a second read so I think this will be my next book.

I feel pretty good today despite not sleeping. I had a good breakfast of blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs and hot cereal. The coffee was hot and I had a glass of oj with it. Breakfast perked me up and I feel very chipper. Life is good.

11:07am I’m kind of torn and frustrated. I have so many books I can’t decide which book to read next. I bought another Stephen King book, Gwendy’s Button Box. I also have the two I bought today. Then I bought a two volume book by James Macgregor Burns, The Definitive FDR. The trouble is I can’t decide which book to read next. All are interesting and enjoyable books. Should I get back to the bio of FDR.? I would like to finish the second volume Soldier of Freedom. Im just not in the mood anything heavy. If the Roosevelt bio is out which Stephen King book should I read? I’ve been pondering these questions all morning.

6:11pm. I had Mexican food for lunch. The enchiladas, Mexican rice and corn were very good. I had banana pudding for dinner desert. The coffee was warm and the fruit punch cold. Overall it was a good lunch. I like Mexican food But it doesn’t like me. I was severely constipated all afternoon  and it was very painful. I shouldn’t have eaten the food but it was that or go hungry. I do not like being hungry.

I got some good news to report. I got weighed this morning. I lost almost ten pounds. I am down to 213.6  I do not know why I am losing weight. I eat just about everything they give me. But heck I would rather be losing weight than gaining. This has been the lowest weight I’ve had in years. I am proud of myself.

Also, I had a talk with Terry from the front office. She was doing a survey Terry asked a bunch of questions about my overall experience in the home. I voiced my concerns. I said I get along with most of the staff. I had to talk to the nurze about a couple of them I said you can’t win them all. At one point she asked me if I could trust the staff. I said one of the the cord and adaptors was missing or something stolen I told them several times. I would like it if the nursing home would buy a new cord. I also said I would like a tv. She said she would get onto it.

I started to read after she left. I decided to go for Needful Things. I read this one a long time ago but forgot. It is about a fictional small town in Western Maine called Castle Rock. This place has been featured in many of King’s stories. A lot of strange things have occured here. Something very evil is about to take over the town when a strange man opens an antique store.

I didn’t get too far in this book. I was not feeling well. I had bad constipation from the Mexican food. I also got very tired. I had a hard time staying awake. But I read the first two chapters. I think I will stick with this. The hell with FDR.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I am a HUGE SK fan. At one point, I had almost every book he had written. Needful Things and IT are my favorites. I also like Misery too. <3

May 17, 2022

@sambucathedestroyer Stephen King vis my favorite author

@bear70 have you tried Richard laymon? Or Clive Barker?