hey self, nice to see you again!

We both work graveyard shifts at different hospitals that are a couple miles apart. I live nearby, while she lives 25 min away.

SHE texted ME that she had brought my mail and would drop it off after our shifts (I get off 30 min before her), or if I am already asleep she could leave it under the mat.

I said thanks, etc.

I thought about it. And honestly, I didn’t really want to see her. What would we say? It would just be an awkward exchange leaving me feeling anxious, hurt, and angry.

I thought some more.

In the past, any attempt she made toward my direction I would take. She’s coming to drop off mail? I’ll be there. I’ll get home early. I’ll stay up later. I’ll make sure I’m home. Drop everything.

But this time was different. I need to take care of me. And I am sick of hurting.

When I got home from work at 7:45 am-I texted her that I was headed to bed and to leave the mail under the mat.

Simple. Yet empowering. When I woke up, I got the mail, no big deal.

I feel like a new person.

And it was just the fucking the mail.

Log in to write a note
June 9, 2019

Maybe this was the best way to deal with this particular situation……Looking after your wants and needs are always the most important.