I’ve gone rugged…

Well, my laptop has, anyway.  Running between exam rooms, clinics and the hospital, I was intrigued when I saw a laptop with a handle attached.  Ends up it is a Dell Latitude Rugged, and I must say I love the thing.  12 hours of battery life gets me through the day un-tethered, and the fact that this is built to take a beating means you don’t have to treat it like a delicate soufflé carrying it around.  I recall a pilot of Apple tablets a few years ago where they were dubbed the OneDrop, because that was all they would survive.  And computers get dropped at hospitals – often!

The unintended benefit is not having to put it into a computer bag.  As you know, if you buy a bag for a computer, all sorts of other things manage to burrow their way in, and you end up with a 20 lb. bag to lug around.  I’ve eliminated that problem!

 

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2018

Sounds nice.  I’ve got to look it up.  I almost bought a Dell when I got my new computer but ended up with an HP that didn’t come with a handle.

March 30, 2018

I have a Dell Latitude, but it’s not the “rugged” one.  No handle!  I love the computer, but I may never get used to Windows 10.  I bought it just before we went to Arizona this winter.  I also have a desk top and a Kindle Fire.  The Fire was all I took last year, but it had been acting up and since I have to do all my banking, paying bills etc.by  computer when we’re there, I wanted to be sure.  Glad to got something you are happy with.

March 31, 2018

Well, now I’m jealous 🙂

April 2, 2018

@d-_-b I admit that I am rather fond of it, despite its industrial vibe.

 

April 2, 2018

12 hours, that’s great!

April 5, 2018

Well I do have a bag I use for a laptop – but nothing else has burrowed its way in lol