Barefoot and Pregnant – My Experiences

October  20,2023

Shortly after my positive test my boyfriend and I went to the doctor’s office.  My doctor, who is an OB-GYN as well as a family physician, had examined me in the past, so I was familiar with the whole process, and since I was only a few weeks pregnant, my appointment was not on a day when the waiting room was full of pregnant women.  I wanted, as much as possible, to keep this between my boyfriend, my doctor and me, and to not be there where I might be recognized by someone who had no real business knowing my business.  The practice was small, and fortunately just a short walk from the school we attended where I was a Freshman and my boyfriend a Junior (even though he was only a year older than me.)  I managed to get the last appointment of the day, so that worked out well, too.  My boyfriend waited outside for me, not in front of the office, again, no one else needed to know what was going on except the three of us.

After a few words between me and the nurse, including me having to tell her why I was there, the doctor came in to talk to me.  In the past year or so she and I had already had conversations about when I would be ready to have sex, and if I needed birth control.  She was surprised, I guess, that I had already made the decision with my boyfriend that we were ready to start our family.  She didn’t really know me that well, at least we had never discussed me getting pregnant, and considering that I told her we were not ready to have sex just six months earlier, she was kinda surprised that I was now here and pregnant.  She had a urine test done, did an exam, and asked me to wait for the results.  In a few minutes she came back and said I was pregnant.  She then had a blood test done, too, and would text me the results later than evening, as that was the only blood test they actually did on site, instead of sending them out to a lab.  It was no surprise later than evening that I got a text with the result saying my levels were 1500, clearly in the pregnant range for my stage of pregnancy, about five weeks.

In the days and weeks that followed the hardest thing was to act like nothing had changed.  I had an appointment to go back in my 8th week for an exam and ultrasound.  There was nothing that changed significantly during those weeks, except that I no longer was getting my period, and I had some mild morning sickness for about two weeks, before I went back for my next appointment.  My boyfriend and I were still having sex once or twice a week, when we could get some time alone, and, honestly, the sex was feeling better than it had earlier, it seemed I was a little more easily aroused, and was more satisfying.  As the day of my next appointment approached, I also began to notice some tenderness in my breasts, especially during out lovemaking time.  He thought I was getting bigger, but I just felt fuller, maybe a little tender, but my bras still fit fine.

Go back to my Pinterest page for the US pic.  It’s under “My pregnancy”

The first trimester was long and a bit annoying.  There was hardly anything to show for what we had done, except the confirmation from the doctor that I really was pregnant.  I gained five pounds, and hardly anything to show for it.  Yeah, my breasts were a big fuller and heavier, and yeah, I had a very slightly swollen tummy, more like I was bloated or getting fat, and definitely not that I looked pregnant.  The upside was that we had settled into a routine that did not reveal that we were expecting a baby in six months.  However, it was now going to be time to change that, in spite of our efforts to act like nothing was different, we now needed to face the fact that things were going to be quite different.

June was the end of 9th grade and middle school.  I attended the Junior Prom with my boyfriend, and even though I was 12 weeks pregnant, there was no evidence of that.  Graduation was the same, even though I was 15 weeks, if I chose to hide it, then it was hidden, and nobody knew.  By 15 weeks I had gained 7 pounds, but still looked the same, bloated, maybe fatter, but not pregnant.  Graduation was uneventful.  We had managed to get through the school year with me pregnant, but we never mentioned it to anyone, especially at school.  We knew it would be a surprise at school, but want to share with our family soon now, as things were going to change…and soon.

 

Log in to write a note