~1st entry’s Explanation -8

6th Grade High Trails Trip; -All the 6th Grades in the Town went on a week trip in the mountains. Nathan went and had fun. This was the first time I allowed him to be away from me for more than a Night. While he was on this trip, he and some other kids managed to get another kid sent home. They just agitated this kid to the point that he lost his temper and went Berserk! (Typically Nathan was a sweet boy but he was also trying to *fit it* too). Age 11

Walkie-Talkies; -Nathan had these Walk-Talkies that his friend Jimmy (who was 3 years older & what a Brat this kid was) and him played with one Summer. Jimmy lived 3 houses down. Nathan and Jimmy were able to chat with each other from their Bedrooms. Age 10

Going down the basement to watch TV at 3:00am; -Nathan and Sarah were 6 & 8 and one morning Nathan woke up in the middle of the night and woke his Sister and they went to the basement and started watching Tv. Dennis the Menace was on. They made too much noise and my husband woke up, found them down there and told them to get back to bed. I told them that next time if they were going to attempt that again, that they needed to be more sneakier and not be so loud.

Computer-Warcraft & Doom; -We had these Games on the Computer. We had our Two computers at the time Networked together and Play against each other. Also he played these with is Dad, Sister and friends. I actually never wanted him to play Doom. I just found something evil about it. His Dad thought it was ok and we evenually all ended up playing it.

Santa’s Workshop; In Colorado Springs up Highway 24 towards Woodland Park was Santa’s Workshop. A fun place for kids. It was an amusement Park. Lots of Rides, Animals, Shows, Santa’s and Christmas Music playing all for about $7.00. A fun time!

Brushing Mom’s Hair; -I loved for him to brush my hair and he liked doing it, although he was slowing down, and it was to the place of paying a Quarter for 30 Minutes worth.

Glow in the Dark Stickers; -Nathan had Dinosaurs, Stars, Moons, Bugs, and I think that’s it of those Glow in the Dark Sticker and Plastic things all over his walls and ceiling. It was just totally cool to see the room all lit up at night. (his sister who is 19 now, has these all over her room).

Playing with Sarah’s Hair; -He’d brush and play with Sarah’s hair too.

Tonka Trucks; -He had 2 of those big Tonka Trucks made out of Metal.

Playing in the Cul-de-sac; -At first the two places the kids could play was in the yard or in the Cul-de-Sac across the street. They spent a lot of time over there playing and riding their bikes.

Slinging the Green Slime thing on the Ceiling (it was still there till we moved in ’98); -You know one of those slime things you get in the 25 cent Machines and when you throw them on the Wall they cling or they slowing row down the Wall? Well he slunged it on the ceiling above the Stairs. Which was just impossible to reach! It stayed there till we moved away. Age 10

Swimming in the Backyard; -For two Summers we had one of those Doughboy Pools. We were popular! Spent lots of hours in that Pool. Age 9/10

Ditching Royal Rangers; -Our Church had a Royal Rangers Group sort of like Boy Scouts. When he was in the 1st grade he was nominated for Royal Ranger of the year. He had to go in for some testing against other boys in each Section in which he didn’t do well in. Still it was neat that he was nominated for this. He never did seem to get really into this. His Low self-esteem contributed to him never feeling like he was apart of this group. In the last year he was in Royal Rangers, he started skipping it. I’d be teaching my class and watch him walking off the Church Grounds with other Boys. Sometimes I just made him join me in my class of all 2nd & 3rd Grade Girls and he seemed to like that better. Age 11

Giving Your Only Pair of Gloves Away to a Friend in Need; -Nathan was in the 1st Grade. He had a friend who always came to school with no gloves on those snowy days. This bothered Nathan a lot. So he gave this kid his Prize Ghostbuster Gloves. He thought those were cool. Yet he was willing to give the away to someone in need. Age 6

Getting in Trouble at School, Mom & Dad Sticking up For You, Then Telling Mom a Year Later.. You Really Did it!; -It was Field Day at School that May of 92. Nathan was in the 2nd Grade. All day long this kid named Ryan kept bothering Nathan. I was there all day watching the Games and I kept telling this kid to knock it off. About 1 PM I went home for a Brief bit. And when I came back to pick Nathan up I was told that while in Line, he Hit Ryan. Well Nathan denied it. I could ALWAYS tell when Nathan was lying and he was NOT lying. If he said he did not do it, then therefore he DID NOT do it! Well Nathan was Punished by the Principle and for the next few days had to sit his Lunch Period in her Office. The Kid he supposedly Hit had to sit in there too. Well that riled us all up. Brian got involved, called the Principle, got upset. The next morning I went into to talk to her, she was adamant about it all… besides how did Ryan get that red mark on his face? We still believed Nathan was innocence! About a year later, Nathan said… “Mom remember when I………………………….?, Well I really did do it.” OMGosh, Brian and I were all over that Principle’s case for accusing our Precious Innocent Son. I even avoided her after wards for the rest of the year, just cause I don’t like to draw attention to myself like that. THAT, was the very last time I believed him whole heartedly when he was denying something…..

~to be continued~

Log in to write a note
February 14, 2002

Such sweet memories you have of your little boy. (((HUGS)))

Green Slime now that is something I had forgotten!!! I love it when my kids brush my hair my youngest daughter calls it giving me a “make over” These are such wonderful memories.

February 15, 2002

i have been reading all your entries here. each of them make me smile and a bit sad. what wonderful memories you have of your son.

February 15, 2002

Giving away his gloves?? Now that’s big! What a kid!

February 15, 2002

you have mail.

February 16, 2002

I have been waiting to hear the story about what he did (didn’t) do at school and then later on told you the truth. Great story, funny how we think we “know” our kids so well and still sometimes they can really fool us. 🙂

still reading. *hug*

February 23, 2002

The reality that our kids actually WILL straight faced tell us a lie. Yep, I can relate. 🙂 ~~pearl

February 23, 2002

We would probably cringe if we knew everything they had done and all the times we defended them when they were in the wrong. That is what we do as parents. The great thing about principals is that they are parents too and they understand.