Getting pissed

I’ve been feeling good for the past couple of days, and I feel good today so far a well. BUT…I’m sick to the eye teeth of pissing on myself!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m taking prescription meds for OAB (Myrbetriq) so what’s the deal?? It obviously isn’t working. Two peeing episodes yesterday, a couple more during the night (and my potty is right beside the bed), and so far one today. I’m 51, not 91, so this is ridiculous. Not to mention completely embarrassing. My sister-in-law (T) does all the laundry, so every time I have an accident I have to tell her to wear gloves when she puts my clothes in to wash, which makes me feel disgusting. It seems like the minute I notice that I have to pee, there it is. Not enough time to make it to the bathroom. It’s so hard getting on the toilet from this damn wheelchair that by the time I get to the toilet, I’ve already been peeing for a few seconds. I feel so stupid saying all this. I’m gonna email Cassie (my doctor) and ask her to send in a different medication for me and see if that changes anything.

My day is going well other than that. I’ve paid the bills, at least the ones I pay online, and now I want to go on Amazon and find a good book to read. Preferably one with over a thousand pages so I don’t finish it too quickly. I tend to read pretty fast, so I can’t get books with just two or three hundred pages unless I have the money to get several, or I’ll be without anything to read too soon. I’m thinking something by either King or Koontz. The book I just finished was The Institute by King, and it was really good.

That’s about it for the moment. It’s still early in the day. Not much has had time to happen yet, so….

I hope everyone is having a great day!

Log in to write a note
November 3, 2021

I don’t know your medical history and if you being in a wheelchair may be affecting your bladder, but you may want to try things in addition to medications:

For 3 to 5 days (or longer if you can), log what you drink and when you go to the bathroom. Then, establish regularly scheduled bathroom breaks whether you feel the need to go or not. Now, if your problem is spasticity this may not help, but it’s something you can try. The goal is then to extend out your scheduled bathroom breaks very gradually by 5 minutes a week or so to train your body to delay the need to urinate, and recognize the need to urinate as well. This can be alot of work, I know, but it can help and may take away your feeling of powerlessness.♥️

November 4, 2021

@nursepurge I’ll give those things a try. Thank you!

November 3, 2021

I have the same problem with peeing. I go several times a day. I can’t make it to the urinal let alone the bathroom. It is so embarrassing. For your next book I highly recommend The Stand. Make sure t is the uncut version Glad the rest of the day is going well

November 4, 2021

@bear70 I believe I read The Stand years ago but I’ll check it out and make sure.

November 4, 2021

Are you using Poise pads or Tena or something? If not, I highly recommend starting. It will eliminate some of that humiliation. You can also use those pull ups that look like pretty ladies’ underwear. My mom had to wear them. It helped alleviate embarrassment and kept her clothes clean.

November 4, 2021

@carina I’ve already started checking in to what my insurance will cover as far as the pull-ups. I had to wear them a few years ago, but then things got better for quite a while. The wheelchair makes it harder to get to the bathroom in time.