Neuropathy

Today has been good so far, except for my neuropathy. I’ll be sitting completely still playing a game on my phone or whatever, and all of a sudden my whole body will jerk. It’s really frustrating. I’m on Lyrica for it, but today it doesn’t seem to be helping. Either that or the neuropathy is getting worse. I’m on the maximum dosage of the Lyrica though, so I guess it’s just something I’ll have to deal with. It was just in my legs, but now it’s in my hands too. I have to be careful when I’m cooking or anything because I can’t tell how hot anything is. All I need on top of everything else is to burn myself. I’ve actually been wondering if that’s a symptom of MS. My doctor referred me a long time ago to get tests done to see if I have MS, but I missed the appointment and never rescheduled. She said that a lot of the symptoms I have sound like MS, and I’ve also been told the same thing by other doctors in the past. I don’t know if I’m just scared of the tests or if I just don’t want to hear that I have it. Maybe one day I’ll get the nerve to find out.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I grew up. I know…this has zero to do with what I was talking about, but…I’m wanting to write my life story sometime. I don’t know why I want to do that, because all it would do is make me relive all the bad stuff I went through. It’s probably not a good idea. Maybe I’m just so bored I’m just looking for something to do. Who knows. My mind tends to race sometimes, and I’ll be thinking of several things at once. When that happens, I can’t seem to separate all the thoughts in my head. I guess maybe I’m going through a manic phase when that happens. I have bipolar disorder, so I could be coming up on a manic phase. God I hope not. I hate it when that happens. It makes me feel like I’m going crazy at times. I’m on Lamictal, Paxil, and Abilify and still I go through phases either of depression or mania. It really sucks to be this way.

Log in to write a note
November 8, 2021

First time stumbling across you here…hello!

I have neuropathy myself, and it’s been a non-pain in my legs/feet for probably six (?) years now.  It’s one of those things we wish we could disinvent or dispell or whatnot.  Walking is…interesting and I feel a lot like I’m always walking on rocks while my balance continually sucks.  Don’t have it above the waist fortunately, but…it’s never a good thing to have regardless.  The nerve pain shots suck the most, as they usually come out of nowhere and leave as quickly as they start.

And…write write write!  That’s kind of what this place is for, ya know.  😉

November 13, 2021

@tigerhawk I’m glad you don’t have neuropathy above the waist. I hope it doesn’t start! Mine has just recently started in my hands, and it is miserable!! The ends of my fingers hurt all the time, and it sucks. But anyway, I know what you mean about it feeling like you’re walking on rocks. Crazy isn’t it??

November 8, 2021

I’m so sorry you’re having so much trouble!  I’d like to encourage you to get the MS testing done — if you do have it, the longer you go with medical help will only make it worse.  And neuropathy!  Ugh!  I’m diabetic so I’m really at risk for it.  17 years & so far, so good.  I really don’t want to get that!

November 13, 2021

@ghostdancer I may end up having to just bite the bullet and get the testing done. It’s the only way I’m ever gonna know if I have MS, so….

November 13, 2021

@blackcatnana Very true.  Personally, I’d always rather know then not know.  If you know something, then you can do something about it, hopefully.  Good luck!

November 8, 2021

Bipolar depression is pretty bad sometimes. I’m sorry you are going through this Take care

November 13, 2021

@bear70 thank you!

November 8, 2021

Hello there!

I have neuropathy in my feet and lower legs. I stumble quiet often and am starting to have trouble with the accelerator pedal in our truck.

But please get cchecked out for the posibility of MS.

Take care and best wishes!

November 13, 2021

@unscathedcorpse please please please be careful driving! I can’t feel anything until you get to my knees, so driving isn’t something I need to be doing anyway.