Woke up early

So I woke up at 6am and couldn’t go back to sleep, so here I am, still up. May as well stay up now. If I go back to sleep I’ll end up sleeping all day and I do NOT want to do that. K (my niece) is taking me grocery shopping this afternoon so I have to be up. Thank God for food stamps! Being on disability is good because I don’t have to worry about losing jobs from being sick constantly, but it definitely doesn’t pay the bills. After I pay my monthly bills I’m lucky to have $100 to last me the rest of the month, which is obviously not near enough to live on. I would love to be able to find some kind of work I could do at home, like proofreading or editing work, but I’m not sure how to go about it.

Today has been good so far. None of the usual nausea so far, so that’s good. I went to the doctor yesterday for my post-op appointment. He took my sutures out and told me to be sure to change the dressing on my stump at least once a day (which I thought was kind of extreme), and to call him if I have any problems. Otherwise, I don’t have to see him again. Odd since that’s the only time I’ve seen him since the surgery, but ok. He said to call him in a month and he would refer me to the prosthetic guy. I really hope I don’t take forever to heal. I’m sick of this wheelchair already. It’s so hard to get around inside the house in it. My two cats get under the chair so I have to worry about running over them, plus it’s just cramped in there for the chair. Especially with my brother (Z) being in a wheelchair too. He had the opposite leg amputated almost 2 years ago and still hasn’t been able to walk on a prosthesis. The surgeon left the bones too long in his stump, so after a year they had to go back in and fix that, now he’s almost completely healed again. I hope he gets his leg soon. Two years is a long time to be in a wheelchair.

I’ll possibly have another entry later today once I go to the grocery store. It will be my first trip to the store since I got out of the hospital, so should be interesting.

Log in to write a note
October 26, 2021

Yes indeed!  Thank goodness for food stamps!  Like you, I don’t have enough left over after the monthly bills to make it through the month, and food stamps certainly help!

I betcha the cats would move — if they’re crouched on floor and I want to get past them, I go to step over them & they bolt.  I’ll bet if you moved your wheelchair even an inch, they’d be gone like shots.

Hoping you do heal fast, get the prosthesis and are up and around soon!  I can sympathize with the lack of mobility.

October 28, 2021

@ghostdancer LOL yes they do tend to bolt when I get close to them in the wheelchair! Thank you for your well wishes!

October 26, 2021

I hope you have a good expierentce shopping. I just in a wheelchair myself so I understand

October 28, 2021

@bear70 it went ok, just slow. Are you able to get out and do your shopping?