Long Pause

I’ve considered Open Diary a lot these last few weeks. My fingers have hoovered over the keys as I internally debated whether or not I should come on in. It is a lot like knocking on a closed door when your mind is ridden with anxiety.

“But do they want me here? What do I say?! Do I look okay? I shouldn’t be here. I DON’T BELONG!”

I have so much inside of me. SO MUCH.

I have overcome more battles than I should have ever had to fight. I like to consider myself a conqueror and refuse to allow myself the title of victim, yet I spend so much time looking at the reflection in the mirror. It’s an ugly reflection. Sadness, defeat, disappointment…every singular bad moment overshadows numerous moments that should induce pride and happiness. I’ve come to realize that I will just never be enough. I’ll never be who I wanted to be. Needed to be.

I want happiness. I want success. I want community. I want to shine my light so bright that others bask in the glory of my sunshine…and yet here I sit. A dull star on a rainy night. Overshadowed by judgement and defeat.

I spend far too many hours wondering how I can disappear. Start over.

I want to scream. Throw things. Break things. I need the sound of shattering glass- deafening yet satisfying. I want to make people understand!! I want them to open their eyes; understand the truth.

Society isn’t quite ready for my truth, y’all. Not by a long shot.

I’m tired. Exhausted. Weary.

But? I paid my OD membership. I reckon it’s time to work this shit out.

Log in to write a note
May 2, 2018

I hear you, sister!

I’ve been struggling with many of the same thoughts and feelings that you have. May I ask, why do you think you’re not enough?

By the way, “they” (meaning I) do want you here!

May 2, 2018

@mara3470

Thank you for your kind note. <3 Isn’t is odd how we can all go through life acting as though everything is superb when deep down inside nothing is as we envisioned it to be?

I have never felt like I was enough. Parent’s that couldn’t find time, grades and talents that were good but never great, a small business that could be something but never quites get to the point of wonderful. I have so many dreams of doing wonderful things, but I always seem to full just a little bit short. Maybe my expectations are just to high?

May 2, 2018

@booo No, I don’t think you’re expectations are too high. Do you think maybe you’re scared to hope for more, to try to fly? I feel like that sometimes.

May 2, 2018

Everybody belongs hey, and all of us are part of this community – speak your truth, and be proud of it 🙂

May 2, 2018

Welcome. Writing is always a good step in the right direction. You do belong. This place has no judgement, just support, because we all have our demons and we all have our highs and lows. OD over the years has made me truly realized how connected everyone is. By the way, do you know that there are places you can go where you can pay to just break dishes? It exists! I’ve always wanted to do it.

May 28, 2018

I think we all go through these feelings.  Get it out girl. We are here for you, we want you, we are your people.