I did it.

Thursday I sat my alarm for 3:30 a.m.  I live an hour away from work.  If I don’t leave two hours ahead of time, I panic.  I literally will have a full-on panic attack.   I do not know where this comes from.  Never been able to figure it out.  I strictly abide by the rule that on time is late and early is on time.  I feel there are none of those people in the world anymore.

I lived in Alaska before coming here.  People would show up 15 minutes late to a doctor’s appointment.   No worry, they were on Alaskan time.  Yep.  Same thing here.  They are on Hawaii time.  Here, it seems like it is expected of you to show up late.  Just getting irritated thinking about it.

So, back to the beginning here.  Starting to get sleepy.   I sat my alarm for 3:30 a.m.  Even set my coffee pot to brew for me.  That was awesome waking up to the smell of coffee.  Took my shower the night before.

Took my medicine and was good to sleep by 9.  Not an easy task when I’ve worked night shift for ELEVEN years.

At around 10 p.m. I was out. Around 10:30 p.m. I suddenly wake up to my partner beside me.  He wants me to come outside with him.  I go out and he tells me that I will sleep.  He says I need to try his medicine.   I know what he means.  He lights it up.  I take a drag.  Cough like I have never coughed before.

But, it felt so nice.  I was very warm and fuzzy.  Oh wow.  It was like I was feeling so….just good.   And, laugh.  I did!  It was amazing.

I talked with him earlier that day about the comment he made about my weight gain.  I told him I felt like he was upset with me for gaining weight.  And I saw that look again in his whole being.  He really looked so distraught that I thought maybe I  should apologize. He just said, “you think this of me?”  Wow.  I felt about 2 inches tall.

After his “medicine” he just said “Come here.  I’ve got something to show you.”

And, show me, he did.  To the upmost.

I didn’t sleep till he left my room.  Which was at 12:30 a.m.  he was so very passionate with me.  Just wow.  Oh goodness.

So, I got up at 3:30 a.m. to get ready for work.  Oh my goodness.   It kicked my butt.  I did it, though!  Worked.  I got so many hugs.  So many “I missed you” compliments.   From the residents.  And co-workers.   It was joyous.

A little concerned about my partner.  getting old.  Bob.  That is what I will call him.  Ever since I have known him, he knew I’m a nurse.  I work 12 hour shifts.  Since I was off for sick leave, he has gotten use to me being home.  First day back to work and he freaked out.   Texting, wanting to know where I was and stuff.

Swears he didn’t know i work 12 hour shifts.  Tried to get my niece involved but she told him my hours.  She told him not to worry.

Another story, another time.

Worked Thursday and Friday.  Did well.  Physically only stumbled one time. Because a rug had gotten bunched up and I tripped on the bunch.

Still, no drinking…made  I am through all of that.

Thinking, is his “medicine* some kind of gateway?”


Because, damn.  Seriously, Damn.

Log in to write a note